Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

deflections in flex drive

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

deflections in flex drive

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 04:23 PM
kawjs550sx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default deflections in flex drive

I am still relatively new to boating, but have just finished my first scratch built 3.5 mono. I started the engine up out of the water today to see how the flex drive would respond, because I know that I have a good distance between the engine and the stuffing tube. Just as I expected, there was some deflection of the flex shaft as it ran. At the midpoint of the exposed section of the shaft, there was maybe about a half inch deflection. Is this something I should be concerned about?
Old 03-02-2010, 04:47 PM
racer504
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: deflections in flex drive

Yes! You should be concerned. The flex shaft should be totally enclosed in a stuffing tube with a liner of brass or teflon. Only a very minimal amount of the flex shaft should be exposed near the collet.
Old 03-02-2010, 05:44 PM
advanced builder

An old school proverb , No more than the width of your starting belt, between your flex hex & Brass stuffing tube. I have forgotten to put my belt on, more than once.
Old 03-02-2010, 06:00 PM
toyotatruckin

The gap at motor end I usually make sure I can remove the collet end with the motor still in the hull (not the entire collet just the end you tighten down) the belt also works and is close But not always does one run a belt the drive end kind of depends on the drive but should be minimal..