Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

lets talk fuel!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

lets talk fuel!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 02:19 PM
andybenton

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lets talk fuel!!!

hey all,

last night i sat down and looked at all of my fuel, and none of them say anything about oil content, whether they are synthetic oils, castor oils, or a blend of oils.

so i figured i would start a thread on what fuel has what kind of oils, and what percentage oils they have.

also i figured discussing what type of oil is preferable for boats, and what oil content is best for boats would be helpful aswell.

im no fuel expert, but with minimal knowledge i would say that atleast 18-20 percent oil would be best for the type of running boats endure,

also i would figure that castorl oil would be the better oil, but i could be wrong.

so lets hear it lol. whats the word on fuel?

Old 05-01-2010, 08:18 PM
Dan S

Default RE: lets talk fuel!!!

well Andy, that's like opening a can of worm.

reason I say this is because we are going to get a lot of opinions, some prefer only castor oil others only synthetic and some a mix of both.
there is a good number of good fuel manufacturer out there and there are some that make some pretty good home brew.

I have tried 2 or 3 of them but have settled on one, for me and a fair number of people on my side of the pond have chosen WildCat. We run the Promix blend 35% and 50%, both have 18% oil content and 95% of it is synthetic and the other 5% is degummed racing castor.
It runs great, its smells great and its consistent and I run it in all my nitro engines, planes, boats, and wheeled.