Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

Tiger 60 Aileron changes

Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Tiger 60 Aileron changes

Old 11-10-2012, 01:46 PM
Leroy Gardner

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Tiger 60 Aileron changes

I'm getting ready to build the Tiger 60 and those long narrow aileron's can pose a flutter as I see it. While it don't seam to be a problem in most builds it was mentoined that there was been flutter issues on some. It's easy to see why, with the control horn mounted in the center on a stick aileron that narrow flutter could happen from my perspective.

I am not a aeronautical engineer so I'm asking for experienced knowledge on this one. If I cut the length in half and bouble the width would I still have the control of the full length one. I know that other similar planes do it that way so why not the Tiger ?.

Your expertise would be well recieved, thank you, Leroy
Old 11-10-2012, 08:07 PM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default RE: Tiger 60 Aileron changes

You'd still have enough control, but you won't be improving the flutter characteristics. The negative with going to the barndoor ailerons is that in a stall you're more likely to lose aileron control. If you're worried about it a couple of mass balancers on each aileron will raise the flutter frequency so your plane won't ever be able to make it happen.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:16 AM
thailazer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts