Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

Why overpower airplanes? A rant...

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Why overpower airplanes? A rant...

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2006, 05:40 PM
dmrcflyr2
My Feedback: (43)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why overpower airplanes? A rant...

I have been building and flying for over 17 years. One rc buddy advised me in my early days to always put the largest engine size RECOMMENDED by the specifications of the manufacturer. I followed this advice, sometimes. Oftentimes I would elect the mid-range of the engine recommendation by the fact that I had the engine to do this. Once I accumlated enough engines and had a better variety I would opt for the upper range.

Never have I powered an airplane as ludicrously as I have read in some of the posts on this forum. Folks putting 90 or 100 sized engines on 60 sized planes irregardless of the wing loading affect. Some one just suggested putting a .75 2 stroke on a very LIGHT 40 sized Uproar?!?!?!? What are these folks thinking?

I have never designed an rc airplane, I have, however built and flown quite a few. NEVER once did I ever think one of my planes was underpowered when using the largest engine recommended by the manufacturer/designer.

Perhaps one reason for this insanity is the 3D craze. For planes to perform these manuevers excessive power is needed, however that should not translate over into sport aircraft. Why put .100 or .120's on a Hog Bipe? It flies beautifully on a 80-90 4-stroke. If you want to 'hang an airplane on its prop', get a plane specifically designed for this, OR fly a helicopter. If hovering is your thing move on to helis. Airplanes are designed for straight flight not hovering.