Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
 2007 RC Plane Completion Pics >

2007 RC Plane Completion Pics

Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

2007 RC Plane Completion Pics

Old 12-08-2007, 09:55 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 2007 RC Plane Completion Pics

This was a good modeling year for me. In January, I built a Guillow's DR1 Triplane for static display and enjoyed it so much that I decided to try a RC plane. I bought a Sig Kadet Senior kit in February after a friend recommended it and during the next 3 months, I spent long hours in the garage building it. After completing it, I taught myself to fly with it in May! I'm a licensed pilot, have played with RC cars off and on for years, and spent some time beforehand on the Realflight PC simulator so it all seemed to come together pretty well. Next, I started a Four Star 60 kit and after reading lots of threads here at RCU about them, I decided to enlarge the rudder and clip the wings. I completed it's maiden flight last weekend after 7 months of on and off construction. Along the way, I got interested in Cox airplane engines and began spending time in the 1/2A forum. That led to a nice little collection of new and used Cox engines and parts. I scratchbuilt a LA Stick from plans I got from a RCU member and bolted a tiny Cox .010 up front that I bought on that big auction site and it's a blast to fly. I also scratchbuilt 2 Pong Two models using a set of plans available from Flying Models magazine. One of them has a Black Widow .049 and the other a Medallion .09 up front. As of this morning, all five of these planes have been flown successfully. I'm hooked on the building process now and also the thrill of watching something I made take to the sky and fly under it's own power. Thanks to all the RCU members who gave me advice and he