Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 Are wooden rotor blades safer than carbon? >

Are wooden rotor blades safer than carbon?

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Are wooden rotor blades safer than carbon?

Old 09-28-2010, 12:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are wooden rotor blades safer than carbon?

Hello,

I am a real newbie to electric helis. I've got lots of time on heli simulators (Real Flight 4.5 and ClearView), enough to show me that I will probably lose control sometimes. I have also flown a little Blade mSR BNF heli OK. Now I'd like to step up to a T-Rex 450 or a T-Rex 500. I am very concerned about the possibility of the heli hitting me or someone else. I hate to think about the injury possible if someone gets hit by spinning carbon-fiber or just plain fiberglass rotor blades. It seems o me that wooden blades would do less damage than those fiber blades.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very welcome.

Regards,

Ted

<input type="hidden" id="gwProxy"><!Session data></input><input type="hidden" id="jsProxy" onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();} else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" /><div id="refHTML"></div>
Old 09-28-2010, 02:51 PM
My Feedback: (6)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Are wooden rotor blades safer than carbon?

ANY blade spinning at the rpm we use them at, is going to cause damage. I applaud your concern about safety. One is not safer than the other. They both will do a great deal of damage to wahever they hit. I've got a scar on my arm from a set of wooden blades. I quickly learned to stay away from them.

Wooden blades are just cheaper to replace. Always fly with PLENTY of space to allow you to make a few mistakes and not endanger someone or yourself. If necessary, dump the heli into the ground to prevent injury to yourself or a bystander.

Rafael
Old 09-28-2010, 03:45 PM