Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 WHAT DID I DO WRONG?!? (ESC FIRE!!) zOMG!! >

WHAT DID I DO WRONG?!? (ESC FIRE!!) zOMG!!

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

WHAT DID I DO WRONG?!? (ESC FIRE!!) zOMG!!

Old 11-26-2010, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WHAT DID I DO WRONG?!? (ESC FIRE!!) zOMG!!

Long story short, I was spooling up my new built Trex 500esp for its 7th or 8th flight, when suddenly white smoke started spewing out of the ESC accompanied with a nasty burning plastic smell.

Im pretty new to heli's (this was my very first heli) so I'd like to know what I did wrong (though I dont think I did anything wrong)

My setup:

Trex 500esp
Scorpion HK 3026-1400KV w/ 15t pinion
Scorpion 26V 90A ESC commander series
6S Hyperion G3 VX 35C 2600
Western Robotics BEC 6S 10A *and yes, I did disconnect the red wire on the ESC to disable the scorpions built in SBEC

I was running governor mode on the ESC (mode 2 - medium correction)
I had flat throttle curves on my DX7SE
0-75-75-75-75 normal
80-80-80-80-80 idle 1
90-90-90-90-90 idle 2

I was on normal mode when the incident happened

The ESC, Motor and battery were never hot at the conclusion of the previous successful flights, I dont have any temps, but I could touch them without feeling like they were burning my hands.

I honestly dont think I did anything wrong, I did alot of research in forums like this prior to purchasing, assembling and setting up, but then again I am a noob.

Based on the stats I gave, did I do something wrong? or did I just by a faulty ESC? and if it is the manufacturers fault, does anyone out there have any experience with dealing with scorpion and warranty replacements? Was it pretty easy or did they give you the run around?

Thanks in advance to all who respond!!

Nore

<br type="_moz" />
Old 11-26-2010, 11:28 PM

Default RE: WHAT DID I DO WRONG?!? (ESC FIRE!!) zOMG!!