Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro???? >

5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

Old 03-17-2011, 04:45 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
jesses151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goshen, OH
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

<div id="post_message_17709333">Maybe there's already a thread out there about this but I'm having trouble finding it. I want to take a 450 sized heli and go flybarless with a <span class="highlight"><font color="#ff0000">5</font></span> <span class="highlight"><font color="#ff0000">blade</font></span> <span class="highlight"><font color="#ff0000">rotor</font></span> head and a 3 axis gyro system. The intent is to build a Hughes 500/530 that is fairly scale looking. I know I could spend top dollar and get the best but I'd rather use this forum to find out about the less expensive products that get me the same results. Any feedback is appreciated.
-Jesse</div><! / message >
Old 03-17-2011, 04:49 PM
  #2  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,124
Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

Beast from Horizon or HeliCommand HC3-X or VBar
Old 03-17-2011, 09:00 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gatineau, QC, CANADA
Posts: 608
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

I have this Hughes HD500 body on my HK450.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10112
You could use this 5 blade head - cheap:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=12612
According to discussion, no special gyro required.
Old 03-18-2011, 02:04 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
jesses151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goshen, OH
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????



As far as the "no special gyro required" does anyone have experience with flying a flybarless heli without one? Also I've seen the HK 5 blade head and was considering it. Is there any problems from these?
-Jesse</p>
Old 03-18-2011, 05:29 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gatineau, QC, CANADA
Posts: 608
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

If you look in the discussions around that head, there are a few recommendations on gyros. Seems that unless it is very well setup, you might have some issues without some electronics...
Old 03-18-2011, 09:18 AM
  #6  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,124
Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

It "can be done" with proper setup and blade choice (heavy) but it can still be a handful.
Old 03-19-2011, 12:17 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: bolton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 5 Blade rotor and 3 axis gyro????

I am running a 4 blade head on my EC135 with the helicommand system that takes away the gyro and controls the rudder aswell ,

should work with 5 blades on your MD500

phil.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14638.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	1580991   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45887.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	152.7 KB
ID:	1580992  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.