Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 Motor/ESC connectors >

Motor/ESC connectors

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Motor/ESC connectors

Old 10-29-2006, 09:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor/ESC connectors

I'm working on a T-Rex 450SA. This is the very first electric anything that I've put together, and I have an embarrassingly simple question. How do you solder the connectors on the Align 430L? The connectors that are included with the motor look like banana plugs, but they are solid on the end that would attach to the leads from the motor. There's a hollow, or concave pocket instead of a pass-thru for the lead. Do you just pool the solder in the pocket, and then place the lead in the pool of molten lead? There are also some tube-type connectors included, but it appears in the instructions for the heli, that they aren't used. It does look like they use the tube connectors on the Align 35A ESC. I just re-read what I'm about to post, and boy...do I look like a noob. Lots of glow experience, but no heli, or electric. I guess I can't learn any younger.[sm=drowning.gif]
Old 10-29-2006, 12:30 PM
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Motor/ESC connectors

This depends much on your bullet connectors. Theres also a few ways of doing it.

First you want to tin the terminating end of each wire. If you're unfamiliar with soldering, tinning is the process of applying solder and allowing it to saturate to the open wire strands, to aid in joining pieces together later on. You should twist and bundle all strands together first before tinning, though.