Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

Shortening servo/gyro wires?

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Shortening servo/gyro wires?

Old 12-04-2006, 02:16 PM
Dynamic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shortening servo/gyro wires?

So I've been flying a BCP for 4 months now...finally got my TREX

TREX 450SE
3 x hs65mg
1 x ds3400g
g500t gyro

DX7 tx + rx (arrives tomorrow or wednesday)

I assembled my TREX and I have everything mounted except the rx and the battery (and a touch of loom for my wires). One thing I discovered is that since I don't need an antenna straw cause of the DX7 I can change the landing skid braces to a wide stance. I did have a a few issues though.

The first is that my canopy (that I did trim and paint allready) appears to gently rub the main gear on one side. Is this normal (should I grind out a notch) or what? Next I need to know how to shorten servo wires properly. Can I get new ends? Is it worth the time and risk (everything else on my bird is trimmed shortened and prime). I'm thinking I will unless people tell me that its a really bad idea. The scary part is shortening my gyro wires that are WAY too long. Will shortening my gyro wires change the perfomance?
Old 12-04-2006, 02:19 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default RE: Shortening servo/gyro wires?

Shortening the wires wont change the performence, but it requires decent soldering skills, if it works dont mess with it is my motto.
Old 12-04-2006, 04:59 PM
thermlin

somebody correct me if im wrong, but i think this is the procedure. ive never done it, but ive seen it done.
wrap the long wires around something about a quarter inch thick, and pull it as tight as you can on both sides (dont break the wires....) and let it go.
should curl up like a curly fry, and doesnt require nearly as much work as soldering