Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 DX-6 with T-rex info >

DX-6 with T-rex info

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

DX-6 with T-rex info

Old 12-08-2006, 09:32 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SHAWNEE, KS
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DX-6 with T-rex info

I am know this radio pretty well, and saw there are several others that use this combo, There are many questions regarding setup on these tx's in these forums, lets share our thoughts, setups, and reasons behind our setups, to learn more about our equipment!
Old 12-08-2006, 09:43 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SHAWNEE, KS
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

I guess I will start the questions, Does anyone know if there is a better battery for the tx? The stock ones seem to suck, mine only last for about an hour. after charging all day, and night.
Old 12-08-2006, 11:41 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Heli_Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE, AR
Posts: 585
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

Yes there are bigger batteries (I think I saw them on Horizions site)

I did the voltage regulator mod and it really helps

See: http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...ektrum_mod.htm

Old 12-08-2006, 12:51 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
WhtBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 2,084
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

Go here for higher capacity batteries, [link]http://www.hangtimes.com/nobsbatteries.html[/link]. I got a battery from Steve for JR 8103, a 1650mah, and it lasts for more than 15 flights now.
Old 12-08-2006, 02:03 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Jellyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

The VR mod is a good one as HH said, and easy to do, your stock battery will work for up to 3 times longer with this 15 dollar mod. And before I knew about that one, I stuffed an 8-cell AA NiMh 2200mAh pack into the compartment, it runs all day with the stock regulator.
DO NOT keep flying after the battery warning has gone off. Land immediately, or you will crash very soon.
You can even use one of your spare BCPP 11.1v LiPos, just remove it for charging.
Old 12-08-2006, 02:51 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: wasilla, AK
Posts: 360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

has anyone took the clicker out of the back? i flipped it over so it doesnt click and to add some resistance. the problem is that it is ery very senstive. any ideas?
Old 12-08-2006, 02:51 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SHAWNEE, KS
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

Wow! I didnt know there were fixes for this problem! Thanks so far for all the info, I cant wait to try this mod!
Old 12-09-2006, 12:55 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Heli_Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE, AR
Posts: 585
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info


ORIGINAL: the dog

has anyone took the clicker out of the back? i flipped it over so it doesnt click and to add some resistance. the problem is that it is ery very senstive. any ideas?
?????
Old 12-09-2006, 05:03 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: wasilla, AK
Posts: 360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

i meant very very sensitive. im not the greatest typist.
Old 12-10-2006, 12:22 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Heli_Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE, AR
Posts: 585
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

What part is sensitive?

The throttle response?

Old 12-10-2006, 08:35 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: wasilla, AK
Posts: 360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

yes the throttle. there isnt much resistance obvioulsly. my dx7 has a adjustment screw but the 6 unfortunatley does not. i was hoping someone had a fix for it.
Old 12-11-2006, 01:01 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SHAWNEE, KS
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

I did the same mod on my DX-6 I just flipped over the tab, Like you did, but had to take it off and bend it, to put more restriction on the stick, until it had enough resistance, I love the feel of mine now.
Old 12-11-2006, 02:40 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info


I havent open up my DX6 yet but with my efite radio
I flipped the tab over and its a little loose.
Others simply slide a piece of fuel tubing over the tab.
Apparently it takes away the ratchet and adds just the right
amount of drag. Dont know if it creates rubber dust after a while.

Old 12-11-2006, 03:36 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Heli_Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE, AR
Posts: 585
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

Come to think of it I did the same thing.

I also made a bracket to move the neck strap loop to over the Power switch to position it over the CG of the radio.

I cant take credit as it was the Owner of my LHS idea, but it works great.
Old 12-11-2006, 05:57 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Willard, OH
Posts: 74
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

i just got the ratchet out of my 9CAPS the other day.
all i did was take the back cover off (careful!!! if you have a 9CAP/S, there are two wires that are very tight to the back panel!!!) and put a really heavy piece of fuel tubing (approx 1" long) over the metal piece. before you put the fuel tubing on, add some lithium grease or something to it. BEFORE you put the back on, feel the throttle, and make sure you got the ratchet out (bigger fuel tubing if not) and you like the feel (bend tab if necessary.
my tab didnt need bent, and it added a VERY nice feel to the throttle.
Old 12-14-2006, 01:52 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SHAWNEE, KS
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

Any more thoughts on the dx6? maybe post some settings, just out of curiosity what is the expo? Maybe some thoughts on pitch, and throttle curve points also. Normal and Idle up. Thanks in advance!
Old 02-02-2007, 02:17 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DX-6 with T-rex info

The instructions for the DX6 dont seem to explain what the ccpm mix value does.
You can set the value for each of the three channels CP2,CP3,CP6.
The default is +60%. Anyone know what this does?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.