Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

gyros for digital servos

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

gyros for digital servos

Old 05-31-2007, 08:22 AM
  #1  
kleaners
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Leonia, NJ
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gyros for digital servos

Are there any less expensive gyros than the gy401 that work with digital servos? Does the align/telebee handle digital. I already have the 9650 servo.
Old 05-31-2007, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,957
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

NEVER go cheap on electronics. You will pay for it later.

Sorry I do not know the answer to the question...

Rafael
Old 05-31-2007, 10:30 AM
  #3  
VinceHerman
Senior Member
 
VinceHerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wadsworth, OH
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

My understanding (anyone correct me if I am wrong) is that a digital servo can accept both the appropriate digital signal, AND the standard servo signal.
So any gyro should be able to drive any servo.

But I ALWAYS recommend that you go with nothing less than a Futaba GY401. This is not an area to try to cut corners. The gyro is so critical to decent heli behavior.
Old 05-31-2007, 11:48 AM
  #4  
gixxernoob
Senior Member
 
gixxernoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: fairfax, VA
Posts: 230
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

I've read on forums that people use the g90 from eflite as a gyro for the Trex but don't know if it will work with the 9650. I would stick with the 401 as you will like the performance.
Old 05-31-2007, 12:03 PM
  #5  
johnnychimpo
Senior Member
 
johnnychimpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: killeen, TX
Posts: 442
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

hobby people have a new gyro that has a digital setting on it but i have not herd or read anyone that has used it yet.
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/444505.asp
Old 05-31-2007, 02:23 PM
  #6  
HeliTB
 
HeliTB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fort Washington, MD
Posts: 1,261
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

The G90 does support digital servos, but for $40 more you can get the GY401 that you own't regret. Heck you can even the GY240 but it doesn't have remote gain and digital servo support. Now that does not mean a digital servo won't work because it will, it's just that you won't be taking advantage of the extra capability of the servo.
Old 05-31-2007, 04:47 PM
  #7  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

the g90 will work...it just can't take advantage of the higher frame rate of a digi servo.....


Now... in saying that the g90 will "work" That is ONLY if you are JUST learning, and the only thing that you are going to do is hover....
if you are anywhere beyond that and will be doing any FF or 3D or ever want to fly the heli backwards, the g90 will not cut it......

Trust us, you have a Trex, don't dumb it down.,.. get a 401 and a 9650 and enjoy......
Old 06-01-2007, 07:01 PM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,807
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

Spend the money once, you won't be sorry.
http://www.ronlund.com and http://www.heliproz.com both sell the 401 for less than what you see it listed on Tower for so check there before you buy one, you need to call or email for the actual price.
Old 06-01-2007, 09:10 PM
  #9  
DarkSkunk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wallingford, CT
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

In reponse to some of the comments and questions. I've got a T-RexSA with a DX-6. I also have the Eflight G90 gyro and digital servo's (JR DS285's and for the Tail a DS3400G). I'm relatively new to the T-Rex (6 months or so) but if I have to say if was unimpressed with any part of it, it would be the Gyro I'm runnning. I've had a lot of difficulty setting it up. Even now I would not say its 100%. Now that I'm running in stunt mode getting into 3D a bit, I find the tail is just not holding. I'm sure some if its me but I'm starting to question purchasing a better unit. Its the one thing I'm not confident of. Good Luck.
Old 06-04-2007, 07:48 PM
  #10  
eddo22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Agoura Hills, CA
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gyros for digital servos

i'm running the align gyro with the 9650...but i'm still getting comfortable with ff. once i start getting into 3d, definitely gonna go with the 401.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.