Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

6ex or dx7?

Old 11-27-2007, 11:02 PM
  #1  
oly_rcer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DesMoines, WA
Posts: 132
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6ex or dx7?

just wondering if givin the choice would you prefer a futaba 6ex fasst or a spektrum dx7?i race cars and trucks and love the 2.4 systems but to be honest the spektrum radios(at least the surface radios)really suck.hoping if i get a dx 6 or 7 the quality will be better than the pistol grip radios or would the futaba be a better radio?thx
Old 11-27-2007, 11:14 PM
  #2  
soop7667
Senior Member
 
soop7667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

All I know for sure is that someone's posted a warning notice that there's been numerous problems reported with the Fasst system. Personally, I've not experienced a single problem with my DX7. I've looked at the DX3, pistol grip radio for cars, and it didn't look like anything special to me, but I don't really know car radios at all. As far as my DX7 goes, I think it's a great radio.
Old 11-28-2007, 04:42 AM
  #3  
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,232
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

What problems have you heard about with Futaba FASST systems?
I have had no problems nor have heard of anyone else have them.
Old 11-28-2007, 08:07 AM
  #4  
TheBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 220
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

The 6EX does not have subtrims nor does it have a separate throttle hold pitch curve (it uses the Normal mode pitch curve). Both are quite important to have in a heli, IMO.
Old 11-28-2007, 08:30 AM
  #5  
hennesseylord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mulberry, FL
Posts: 485
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

dx7 all the way!
Old 11-28-2007, 09:14 AM
  #6  
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,232
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

I'd better throw mine in the bin then.
Old 11-28-2007, 09:49 AM
  #7  
soneebee
 
soneebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: las pinas, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2,404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

I would go for the DX7.. it has more features that you will need... the 6EX FASST is an entry level radio...
Old 11-28-2007, 10:30 AM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,033
Received 357 Likes on 287 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

Lack of sub trims on a 6ex make it a nusance to setup a heli. If I had to choose between that and a DX7 I'd get a dx7 any day, and I've been flying Futaba for a LONG time.
Old 11-28-2007, 10:57 AM
  #9  
BryFlyGuy67
Senior Member
 
BryFlyGuy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,578
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

A lot of my buds have Futabas, but I love my DX7.
Old 11-28-2007, 04:00 PM
  #10  
ekotil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: athens, TX
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

If you go Spektrum it has to be a 7 but if you do heli's mostly get the heli version because of throttle movement and switch layout. I have one of each but prefer the heli version if I only could have 1!
Old 11-28-2007, 04:08 PM
  #11  
hennesseylord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mulberry, FL
Posts: 485
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

the dx7 is exactly the same heli or airplane version...only difference is the throttle has a ratchet feeling on the airplane while the heli version is smooth. switch layout is the same correct?
Old 11-28-2007, 09:40 PM
  #12  
tippy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Town Creek, AL
Posts: 1,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?


ORIGINAL: TheBum

The 6EX does not have subtrims nor does it have a separate throttle hold pitch curve (it uses the Normal mode pitch curve). Both are quite important to have in a heli, IMO.
I believe the 6EX 2.4GHZ version DOES have a TRIM menu but the regular 6EX* does not.
Old 11-29-2007, 09:14 AM
  #13  
George1234
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?


ORIGINAL: tippy


ORIGINAL: TheBum

The 6EX does not have subtrims nor does it have a separate throttle hold pitch curve (it uses the Normal mode pitch curve). Both are quite important to have in a heli, IMO.
I believe the 6EX 2.4GHZ version DOES have a TRIM menu but the regular 6EX* does not.
You're right, it does have a trim menu, but does not have a "sub-trim" menu.

George
Old 11-29-2007, 07:26 PM
  #14  
JayDizzl879
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?


ORIGINAL: hennesseylord

the dx7 is exactly the same heli or airplane version...only difference is the throttle has a ratchet feeling on the airplane while the heli version is smooth. switch layout is the same correct?
Some switch positions are a little different on the aero version.
Old 11-29-2007, 08:26 PM
  #15  
tippy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Town Creek, AL
Posts: 1,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?


ORIGINAL: George1234


ORIGINAL: tippy


ORIGINAL: TheBum

The 6EX does not have subtrims nor does it have a separate throttle hold pitch curve (it uses the Normal mode pitch curve). Both are quite important to have in a heli, IMO.
I believe the 6EX 2.4GHZ version DOES have a TRIM menu but the regular 6EX* does not.
You're right, it does have a trim menu, but does not have a "sub-trim" menu.

George
From the DX7 manual (referring to SUB-TRIM):
The Sub-Trim function allows you to electronically adjust the centering of each servo. Sub trim is individually
adjustable for all seven channels, with a range of + or - 125% (+ or - 30 degrees servo travel).
From the 6EX_2.4 manual (referring to TRIM):
Adjusting the trims with the trim levers changes the servo’s position in increments of “4.” If finer adjustments are required, land the
model, then enter the program as described below to adjust the trims in increments of “1.”
So ... you are right ... the 6EX_2.4 does not have a menu called "sub-trim" but it's "TRIM" menu seems to perform a similar function to the more commonly known "sub-trim" menu ...

Some say ATV ... some say EPA ... both do the same thing.
Old 11-29-2007, 09:54 PM
  #16  
George1234
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

But with sub-trim, you can you can put in an offset to center a servo, and your trim menu will still be centered. If you center a servo using trim, your flight trim will also be off, and if you change trims for flight, centering will be off again!

George
Old 11-29-2007, 11:16 PM
  #17  
soop7667
Senior Member
 
soop7667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

What problems have you heard about with Futaba FASST systems?
I have had no problems nor have heard of anyone else have them.
I could take a pic of it. It's a print out that's been posted at the air park I fly at. It says something about interference from other FASST radios if memory serves. I didn't read the whole thing or pay too much attention because I don't have one but I'll try to remember to read it for you.
Old 11-30-2007, 04:57 AM
  #18  
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,232
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

I think it's just somebody scared of new technology, I was apprehensive at first, it's a bit weird. I race Gas powerboats Nationally and it's a very alien feeling switching on to check out when other boats are racing but of course you can do it, with no problems.
Interestingly, that's how I got into Heli's, simply because the software was in the Tranny!
I have to say though, the FASST system is as solid as a rock.
Old 11-30-2007, 04:55 PM
  #19  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,033
Received 357 Likes on 287 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

TRIM effects a FUNCTION, ie Aileron. (two servos in the case of ccpm)

Subtrim effects a SERVO, they are not the same thing and cant be used to center a particular servo to get correct ccpm geometry.

I've been around this block with folks showing up for help with 6ex's
Old 11-30-2007, 11:11 PM
  #20  
oly_rcer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DesMoines, WA
Posts: 132
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 6ex or dx7?

thx for all the great answers folks i ended up getting a dx7 and an ar 6100 setup now the fun part of programming starts

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.