Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Old 08-11-2008, 10:56 PM
  #1  
abp689
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ada, MI
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Hey all,

I just picked up several Kong packs for my V2 and would like to charge them properly. I currently have an Astro Blinky and Dynamite AC/DC charger that will allow me to select 2/3 cell and 500 1500 or 3200 mah. After looking around here, I have been seeing a lot of recommendations for chargers that have a balancer attached.

If I use the Astro and no balancer on the charger, am I going to ruin the battery faster; or not get as many charges? If so, what would be a solid AC/DC charger (not finding AC chargers out there).

Thanks for any advice,

ABP
Old 08-11-2008, 11:19 PM
  #2  
noobflyer01
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 2,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

i have the triton jr. with the astro blinky. and ripmax propeak 13.8v power supply. charges 2-4 cell in about 1 hour. in the comfort of my home.

you do want to balance your lipos for longevity. also you DONT want to over-discharge them. the kongs packs are really nice packs. take care of them and they'll take care of you.
Old 08-11-2008, 11:35 PM
  #3  
rzarikian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: caracas, VENEZUELA
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

the Thunder Power 610 charger is a nice option, it has a built in digital balancer and will charge up to 6 cell lipos
Old 08-11-2008, 11:49 PM
  #4  
J-MICHAEL
 
J-MICHAEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SEQUIM, WA
Posts: 6,100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

The Bantam BC8 & BC10 are another excellent choice. It's got a built in balancer with digital readouts of each cell, which ya can actually can hook up to your computer also... I've actually brought back a lipo from being over discharged with the BC8 and love that thing. I have the TP 1010c charger also, and like it a lot also but has no balancer built in, so I also use my blinky when I do have to use that one.
Old 08-12-2008, 01:34 PM
  #5  
Missileman
Senior Member
 
Missileman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 3,204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

No you do not need a balance charger if you are using a seperate balancer like the Blinky.
A balance charger is nice to have but the Blinky does a fine job and can be used while charging.
Old 08-12-2008, 05:05 PM
  #6  
Druss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 7,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

As stated, you don't need a balancing charger since you already have the blinky so a triton would work well. Or a FMA Cellpro 4S. I have the triton2, TP 610C and TP1010C w/ 210 balancer. I find I use the TP610C the most as it's compact and has everything I need for now. It comes with balancing taps for both TP and Align style so it will handle pretty much any major battery out there except for Hyperion and for $125 it's hard to beat.
Old 08-12-2008, 08:38 PM
  #7  
abp689
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ada, MI
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Thanks again for the information. I will probably look for a TP 620 or 1010.

Take care,
AP
Old 08-12-2008, 08:57 PM
  #8  
rzarikian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: caracas, VENEZUELA
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

you mean TP-610
Old 08-16-2008, 12:13 PM
  #9  
abp689
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ada, MI
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Yeah, a 610. BTW, why are there not many AC/DC chargers on the market?
Old 08-16-2008, 07:20 PM
  #10  
rzarikian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: caracas, VENEZUELA
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

No I've been loking for a good one but haven't had any luck so I went with the 610. You can make a good 12V power supply with an old computer power supply. You could probably get it for free.
Old 08-23-2008, 12:01 AM
  #11  
abp689
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ada, MI
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

Yeah, I actually found a post for a computer power supply and built one last night. Works great so far. I will post pics one of these days. But it was actually pretty straight forward building the unit.

AP
Old 08-23-2008, 09:58 AM
  #12  
rzarikian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: caracas, VENEZUELA
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I need a charger with a balancer -help.

please post some pics and explanaitions!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.