Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset >

401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Old 05-26-2010, 08:56 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
harrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Each time I fire up the trex with my 401 gyro, I get the double-flashing lights on the gyro indicating that it's not in sync with the rudder trim. The manual says to flip the gyro on/off switch (my gear switch) repeatedly a few times and the light will become solid - which it does. Flight is normal after doing so, but I have to do this EVERYTIME I turn the heli on. Is there a way to keep this from happening?

Thanks.
Old 05-26-2010, 11:00 AM
  #2  
My Feedback: (59)
 
Red Baron Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Making a guess here: how close are you to the "dead band" of the gyro? Trying not to be too basic, but ... did you setup the gyro per the instruciton sheet regrdign rate or heading hold modes?
I'm still new at this also.
Gary
Old 05-26-2010, 11:11 AM
  #3  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
harrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Clarify "dead band" for me. I have setup the limits of the rudder via the POT control on the gyro. The rudder trim is at 0 on the JR 9303 which I am using. What happens is that when I first connect the battery the gyro sets up properly (red light) first, before the receiver connects to the transmitter (using 2.4 rx/tx). Once the receiver connects to the transmitter, the red light starts flashing. This all takes place in a few seconds of each other.
Old 05-26-2010, 11:30 AM
  #4  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,126
Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Put the switch in heading hold, rebind the receiver.
Old 05-26-2010, 12:04 PM
  #5  
My Feedback: (59)
 
Red Baron Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Hi Andy, hey Harrier: do as he suggests, he gave me some most EXCELLENT suggestions when I started in heli.
Harrier: you can download the gyro instruction sheet at http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/futm0807-manual.pdf if you need it
Red Baron Gary
Old 05-26-2010, 03:14 PM
  #6  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
harrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset


ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey

Put the switch in heading hold, rebind the receiver.

That did it Barracuda. Thanks so much.
Old 05-26-2010, 04:25 PM
  #7  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,126
Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts
Default RE: 401 gyro constantly needs to be reset

Always a pleasure.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.