Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 HK 500 HOBBY KING >

HK 500 HOBBY KING

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

HK 500 HOBBY KING

Old 08-21-2010, 02:36 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default HK 500 HOBBY KING

HI !
I AM LOOKING TO PURCHASE THE HK 500, TREX CLONE,LOOKS GOOD FOR A GOOD PRICE !
DOES ANY ONE HAVE ANY INFORMATION ON THE HK ?
IS IT WORTH THE MONEY ?
Old 08-21-2010, 06:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: HK 500 HOBBY KING

Can't speak to the HK 500 but I have a friend who bought the HK 600. had a fair amount of issues building it. Said fit was poor on maney of the parts and even had to re-machine parts to get them to work right ! Especially in the tail section. He's an computer / electrical engineer by profession so when he says it was a poor value/ poor fit, I believe him. I'd stick to an Align bird Even if you pick one up used from Run ryder or Helifreak classifieds. There is an old saying " You get what you pay for "
Just my two cents
Old 08-21-2010, 02:09 PM

I have the 450 and most of the parts are quite decent for the money. That said, expect that there could be part defects and you may need to replace some parts straight off the bat... The only problem I personally encountered was that the shaft for the tail rotor was bent when I got it. The old addage is correct to a point, that you do get what you pay for, but the way I see it you could replace the parts three times over on an HK500 before you even spent the same amount for a used genuine T-Rex 500. Higher end RC companies are notorious across the board for charging a premium for their nameplate. And one final bonus to the HK kits is that if at any time you want to foot the bill for upgraded Align parts, they'll bolt right up. Just my $.02.
Old 09-20-2010, 07:49 AM
My Feedback: (12)