Notices
Tamiya Monster Trucks Discuss classics all Tamiya Monster trucks from the Clodbuster to the TXT1 and everything in between!

Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

Old 10-05-2012, 05:07 PM
  #1  
Lex
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

I recently put together a Clodbuster, been wanting one since they first came out in 87 and finally picked one up. Talk about nostalgia. The first thing I did was to ditch the mechanical speed control in place of a dual battery Traxxas ESC (14.4v) capable. I put a jumper on one of the esc plugs in order to run a single 6 cell Ni-MH (7.2v) to deliver power to the two stock 540 motors. My question is would I be able to run two batteries as the esc was intended for of will I fry those stock motors?
Old 10-06-2012, 01:43 PM
  #2  
454chad
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: cheboyganMI
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

yes you can run two 6 cell's with the stock motor's you will be fine
Old 10-06-2012, 02:04 PM
  #3  
Lex
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

Hey Chad is this something you've done or seen because I have a couple people telling me you can't without blowing those motors. I'm really hoping your right and they aren't just wondering though if you have actually done it? Not trying to say your wrong just looking for a little mor detail if possible, because I'm really wanting your advise to be then right one, lol.
Old 10-07-2012, 02:25 AM
  #4  
sparky 25
 
sparky 25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Derry, IRELAND
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

Yes running two batteries will be fine,

The tamiya txt1 runs the same 2 x 540 can motors and I ran it on twin batteries for ages,

I used the 14.4v speed control from an e-savage and e-savage 20t pinions,

These made a huge difference to the speed of the truck.
Old 10-07-2012, 10:51 AM
  #5  
The Mad Modder
Senior Member
 
The Mad Modder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: eastern, IL
Posts: 3,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

They may not burn out right away, but the stock motors won't last as long when run on double voltage.
Old 10-07-2012, 03:57 PM
  #6  
454chad
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: cheboyganMI
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

yes i have done it .i have run my txt1 with stock motor's with the same esc and never had a issue and i pulled with it ... i am guessing you will want to upgrade the motor's to like speed gem's or something better down the road anyway
Old 10-07-2012, 07:46 PM
  #7  
Lex
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

Thanks guys much appreciated, was hoping to hear first hand accounts. Thats great thanks.
Old 10-07-2012, 07:49 PM
  #8  
Lex
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

By the way does anyone know what turn rating the stock Clodbuster motors are? Just wondering so as to upgrade to something faster.
Old 10-07-2012, 09:18 PM
  #9  
454chad
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: cheboyganMI
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

27 turn's
Old 10-08-2012, 05:31 PM
  #10  
Lex
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

With the Traxxas EVX-2 (14.4v) does anyone know what what turn motors I can safely run with that esc?
Old 10-10-2012, 02:54 PM
  #11  
454chad
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: cheboyganMI
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

15 turn's
Old 10-15-2012, 02:52 PM
  #12  
bronco25ton
Junior Member
My Feedback: (-2)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual batteries on Clodbuster???

+1 I did this 20 years ago with my original Clod (had too since all they had was 1500 mah NiCads!!)
ORIGINAL: 454chad

yes you can run two 6 cell's with the stock motor's you will be fine

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.