Go Back  RCU Forums > TEAM RCU > TEAM RCU - Mike McConville
Reload this Page >

Fuel tank position relative to carb.

Community
Search
Notices
TEAM RCU - Mike McConville Ask expert Team RCU pilot Mike McConville questions in this forum.

Fuel tank position relative to carb.

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2009, 06:57 AM
Thaba Raptor
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel tank position relative to carb.

I have a 33% H9 Extra 330s that is nearing completion and first maiden. Been working on and off on her for nearly a year now.

I am using a secondhand 3W 100cc engine. the carb is sitting below the centreline of the engine, between the exhausts. I am new to gas engines and large scale so pleae bear with me if this sounds like dunm questions:
1. What is the ideal relationship between the centre level of the fuel tank and the carb intake for gas engines? Carb and tank in line? carb below tank centre line ?
2. Somebody recommended that I instal a vent from the top of the tank exposed to atmosphere with the open end below the level of the tank. Why?
3. The person also recommended that i take a long piece of fuel tubing and snake it fron the stopper along the top of the tank and then out to the carb. Will this not influence the fuel draw to the carb?

Now a question on the 3W 100. this engine has the modification to the carb done (ballancing the pressure on the diaphram). Although there are spark from the electronic ignition i could not get the engine to start. What is the recommended carb setting for this motor?

Thanx

Thaba Raptor

Old 01-20-2009, 10:17 AM
FlyerRick

Default RE: Fuel tank position relative to carb.

Hey Thaba, Twisted here! (Dietrich 260 50cc/DA-50R, H9 SU26MM Sukhoi/DA-85) Glad to see another "Gasser" in the makings and good luck in your upcoming maiden! To answer your questions...