Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Thunder Tiger - Raptor 30, 50, 60, 90
Reload this Page >

BIG SCARE.swaring off training gear.

Notices

BIG SCARE.swaring off training gear.

Old 02-16-2004, 10:16 PM
3littlefonzies

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BIG SCARE.swaring off training gear.

so I'm fairly confident in my ability to not use training gear, but i was still using mine just to be safe. also since I'm breaking in an engine and I'm not that experienced. so i was just hovering around being safe . i felt like moving around a bit and i got up to about 30 feet or so. training gear was shaking but it felt about normal. then, i don't know if it was rich and that cause some extra vibration or what,but all of the sudden,POPSNAP[:'(][sm=drowning.gif] and the training gear was falling to the ground. aaaaholy ^%#$##@%^&. but wait the heli didn't kill itself or explode . it just hung there(like a helicopter). well i decided to land . i shut down. and reflected on just how lucky i was that all 4 of the zip ties popped at the same time. i still have a perfectly fine raptor (minus training gear)

hope you all enjoy this story. it happened today

Chris
Old 02-17-2004, 12:47 AM
blvdbuzzard

Default RE: BIG SCARE.swaring off training gear.

I have read about training gear legs breaking and finding there way into the rotor disc with an unhappy ending. Glad your bird just lost a few feathers.

Dru.
Old 02-17-2004, 12:59 AM
3littlefonzies

wiffle balls and rotor blades went through my mind within milliseconds of seperation
Old 02-17-2004, 04:52 AM
raiki

I was using training gear for far too long. One day I was doing a circuit (I had done heaps before) and on decent a huge vibration set in.

The training gear shook like all hell and one of the balls hit the rotors. The training gear fell to the ground so I landed. I found a crack in one of the rotor blades afterward so I am glad I got it down quick and in one piece.

Since that day I have not used training gear.