Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

Plaster and canopies for plugs

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Plaster and canopies for plugs

Old 12-08-2020, 10:00 AM
acdii

Received 47 Likes on 42 Posts
Default Plaster and canopies for plugs

I was thinking, the easiest way to make a copy of a canopy or other vac formed parts would be to make the plug from Plaster of Paris, but, what do I use as a mold release agent to prevent the plaster from damaging the part? I have a few parts I want copied so I can duplicate them in case my thumbs do something dumb, and these parts are no longer available.
Old 12-08-2020, 10:11 AM
Tailspin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no expert but I think 3-D printing might be a good way to make a plug if you know someone with the equipment and skills.
Steve
Old 12-08-2020, 11:21 AM
acdii

No, I don't, and already have enough toys with the Laser and Sherline tools. I don't have the time or patience to learn 3d modeling either.
Old 12-08-2020, 08:02 PM
GREG DOE

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There is a product called polyvinyl alcohol. commonly referred to as PVA. It can be sprayed, or brushed on. There should be videos on the net on how to use it.
Fiberglast Products has a number of "how to" videos, so that might be a good place to start.
Old 12-13-2020, 07:37 AM
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have done this very thing in the past with unsatisfactory results. A mold needs to have a glossy, polished finish. Especially if you expect to have a nice clear, not cloudy looking, canopy pulled from the mold.
Old 12-15-2020, 07:08 AM
aspeed