Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

How to weight or clamp leading edge sheeting?

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

How to weight or clamp leading edge sheeting?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2004, 11:31 PM
Droopy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to weight or clamp leading edge sheeting?

I'm a fairly experienced builder, but recently decided to try to build a plane w/o CA and using magnets/weights. This will be my 3rd Goldberg Chipmunk. I'm sheeting the leading edge of the wing and am looking for some tips on how to get the very front part of the sheeting to stay bent on the ribs as the wood glue dries. I've soaked the balsa and let it sit with some weights on it for a couple days, but the last 1/4 inch or so still doesn't want to bend far enough near the wingtip.

Ideas?

Thanks,

John
Old 01-15-2004, 12:32 AM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: How to weight or clamp leading edge sheeting?

I use masking tape to hold it in place. You might want to try putting some slow (thick) CA on the leading edge and regular glue on the ribs. Then spray some kicker along the leading edge of the sheeting. Work from the center of the wing out/in and you shouldn't have any problems. And yes, make sure the leading edge of the sheeting is damp!

Jerry
Old 01-15-2004, 01:58 AM
J_R

When you wet it try Windex or ammonia mixed in water. The ammonia changes the wood at the cellular level and will bend much further and easier than just water alone.
Old 01-15-2004, 07:20 AM
CafeenMan

Droopy - Here's what to do...