Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Building a field box. >

Building a field box.

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

Building a field box.

Old 09-24-2002, 02:52 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a field box.

Im interested in Building a field box. Roughly 32x16x14.
Im thinking a enclosed box type which will end up being waterproof.
The thing I cant figure out yet is what wood to use to build it.
I want something that will be light but also strong a durable. I plan to use box joints on the corners to add strength but I am trying to stay away from heavy wood.

One thought is to use a hard wood as the deck and build up a frame, then skin it with thin laminated wood sheets. Im not sure if this would be strong enough though.

I am not experienced at all in woodworking but I am starting to buy some tools and getting interested. Maybe I will pick up a book this week on building and so forth.

Any suggestions would be helpfull.

Thanks

Dbow
Old 09-24-2002, 03:16 AM
My Feedback: (206)

Default Field box

By the size of the box, I suggest that you build some muscles before because with over 4 cubic feet of cargo space you are going to find yourself lugging your workshop to the field.

My suggestion to you is to find or build a much smaller one to carry the basic necessity. If you want to bring along more stuff get one of these plastic tool box that sells at most hardware stores or yard sales and fill it up. However leave it in the car to be taken out only if you need it.

I had one of those field box loaded with even an AM/FM car radio c/w cassette player along with all the tools I thought I would require once in a life time. I finally got a much smaller (Hanger 9) field box...and the big one stays in the car.

Enjoy flying more than lugging stuff...just in case you might need it. Have fun
John