Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

HYDEOUT YS 1.40 DZ engine firewall assembly

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

HYDEOUT YS 1.40 DZ engine firewall assembly

Old 07-23-2003, 10:02 AM
tuavp

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default HYDEOUT YS 1.40 DZ engine firewall assembly

hi everyone,
I am a pattern F3a pilot and just have brand new HYDEOUT plane+YS 1.40 DZ engine+tune pipe etc. So, I have the problem to understand that how to adjust the engine with hyde soft mount on a firewall?
I should have give right angle because of the engine stroke but if I give this angle from firewall or engine mount then my engine leans right then I can not adjust the nose ring and ý must cut some part from my fuselage...!!! whic is not possible

I found some explanations on iternet but they are not satisfactory. Does anyone nows how to solve this problem? or very open pictured&drawed explanations for this?

Thks
Ahmet
Old 07-24-2003, 01:06 AM
Papa Tango

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ahmet,

I'm not sure that I understand your problem as you stated it, but I get the impression that you have an engine on the motor mount that you must cant or tilt in a certain direction to comply with building instructions. However, when you do this, the propeller shaft no longer sticks out of the engine cowling in the right place and the cowling must be trimmed.

If you do not want to cut the cowling, do this:

The engine mount must be positioned in the opposite lateral direction as the thrust angle adjustment requires. It would be hard to calculate and measure the amount of offset from the thrust center-line you need to drill your holes for the motor mounts and still get it perfect in the end. There is an easy way to make sure that the holes you drill to mount the engine will line you up perfectly with the cowling hole.