Notices
TJT Turbine Direct Support Ask your questions about TJT turbine in this forum. All I-Jets related questions may be asked here if relevant or in the general jet forum.

TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Old 03-05-2008, 10:29 PM
  #1  
Ron S
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ron S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,202
Received 186 Likes on 114 Posts
Default TJT-3000 Thrust Output

I know this part of the forum probably doesn't get much viewing any more. I've emailed Marty Cowan on this a while back, and he was helpful, but was out of suggestions. I have a very low time TJT-3000 Eagle, the AL canned, red anodized bellmouth version. The turbine has had 8 flights on it - I only started using it toward the end of 2007. It is a nice running turbine, but it puts out much less than the 27.5 lbs it should. The most I have ever gotten out of it was barely 23 lbs at 60 deg F. It does run to the proper max rpm of 126krpm. It seems to run cool, versus other turbines I have. My thrust stand has been used to check out other turbines (P-60, P-70, RAM500, Titan) and the thrust levels are very close to advertised ratings - I've never found one off by 17% low. I feel comfortable that my stand is reasonably accurate.

Have any TJT users ever measured thrust on your turbine? Have you heard of mods that may have been needed to increase thrust output? This item was bought back when FTE was a distributor.

Thanks for any suggestions. I realize I'm probably out of luck with this turbine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us52485.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	895891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je99974.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	895892   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq37050.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	895893  
Old 03-21-2008, 10:25 PM
  #2  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron, The early TJT-3000 were in essence a JG-100 with cosmetic and electronics upgrades. Some of the early 3000's of which yours seems to be were in the 22- 24 lb thrust range which is correct. It will perform well as is indefinetely or may I suggest considering upgrading to the later 30 lb thrust spec TJT-3000 V2 when scheduled service inspection time is due at 25 hrs run time or sooner if you prefer. This upgrade service is now offered on the TJT-3000 by JET FX here in Australia, turn around time is very fast and we will also have a kero upgrade option coming very soon for the 3000 V2. Hope this helps, please let me know anytime if I can assist further...

Brg-

Marty Cowan CD
JET FX Australia

Old 03-22-2008, 09:56 PM
  #3  
Ron S
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ron S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,202
Received 186 Likes on 114 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Jet FX,
I would definitely be interested in the V2 upgrade, depending on price. Let me know here or via PM what parts might be swapped out - I'm curious - as well as what you'd estimate the cost to be for the mods. Thanks again for the offer - I realize you've moved on from this turbine type...

I should probably add that I'd probably not be interested in the Kero start upgrade at this time - the turbine starts nicely with Powermax - unless it is an inexpensive option. This turbine appears to be very nicely made unit. [8D]
Old 03-23-2008, 02:49 AM
  #4  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron, Just sent you a PM

Cheers- Marty
Old 03-23-2008, 09:20 AM
  #5  
F15driver
My Feedback: (24)
 
F15driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 288
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Marty,
Like Ron, I would be interested in the V2 upgrade when my 3000 is ready for service. Would you please email me the repairs/replacements to be made and the approximate cost.
Thanks,
Rob Puetz
Old 04-03-2008, 01:05 PM
  #6  
drs.p.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mönchengladbach, GERMANY
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron S.
I just bought a TJT-3000 Eagle, with two hours running time. I hope it wasn’t wrong to do so. It looks like the one you have, but with a blue front and a slightly different engraving – a later version maybe. I was told the trust of my turbine should be around 12-13 kg (26-28lb).
I am looking for the Users guide (I only have the Fadec Autostart manual). Would it be possible for you, or somebody else to send that one by e-Mail ? ?
Peter Holtkamp
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19012.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	920720  
Old 04-03-2008, 01:17 PM
  #7  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Peter, Please PM me your email address and I can email you a .PDF version of the operators manual for the TJT-3000.

Cheers- Marty
Old 04-03-2008, 08:32 PM
  #8  
luckyb001
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Davie, FL
Posts: 581
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

I also have a TJT 3000 bought from FTE its a great running turbine but it only puts out 23 LBS of thrust. I had the ECU changed to a Modelbah back in 06, when the original ECU quit and I couldn't get anyone from TJT to respond to my cry's for help. I fly a Skymaster F-15 with it and it works fine. Mike
Old 04-03-2008, 11:10 PM
  #9  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Mike, Just to let you know JET FX Australia became the TJT authorized global support/service agent for TJT turbines at the beginning of 2007 and we can now assist previous TJT customers with any service inquiries/requirments. We also carry most parts in stock and also can offer an optional upgrade service as well.... For direct inquires and service shipping details please visit our new website- http://www.jetfx.net

Brg-
Marty Cowan
JET FX Australia
Old 04-06-2008, 04:31 AM
  #10  
drs.p.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mönchengladbach, GERMANY
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Marty, thank you for the offer! sent you a PM, Peter
Old 04-07-2008, 08:52 PM
  #11  
Ron S
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ron S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,202
Received 186 Likes on 114 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Ah, we're all coming out of the woodwork now! [8D] You're right in that the turbine does run nicely though. I think I'll just eventually put it in a model that will be happy with the thrust that it does put out...
Old 04-08-2008, 03:47 AM
  #12  
drs.p.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mönchengladbach, GERMANY
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron,
didn’t want to offend you, sorry. Ask me about Spitfires, that’s my world. I know nothing about turbines jet. I only hope its above 21lb, because that’s what the Airmacchi needs. I will test it and make my measurements before flying it.
So: I am happy with any advise!!!


By the way: do you fly with diversity receivers? 2.4gh? ... Is it risky to fly only with one receiver 35mh and a small, but decent dual power supply?

Peter
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87437.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	924972  
Old 04-08-2008, 07:46 AM
  #13  
Ron S
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ron S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,202
Received 186 Likes on 114 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Peter,
Certainly no offense taken... I assumed Marty had taken care of you. Please PM me your email address if Marty hasn't gotten around to sending you the latest FADEC manual for this turbine. If not, I will gladly send it to you - I got it from Marty also.

If you need 21 lbs thrust, I'm certain this turbine will provide what you need. Mine starts nice and runs smoothly.

Here in the US, I'd say most people are slowly converting over to 2.4GHz, and those that have seem generally happy. I intend to start switching over this year with Futaba FASST system, many are using Spektrum hardware. All of my models are using a single receiver - some of the larger models here use a dual receiver setup. I think you should be okay with your single receiver dual battery setup, unless there are issues with 35MHz (I would not be familiar with that).

I hope you enjoy your Aeromacchi!

Edited: Peter, email has been sent!
Old 04-09-2008, 12:50 AM
  #14  
drs.p.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mönchengladbach, GERMANY
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron, Just sent you a PM
Peter
Old 05-22-2008, 03:44 AM
  #15  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Peter, Sorry I have been out of the loop for while busy selling/buying and moving house. I hope Ron was able to help you out there, if not please resend you contact info via PM or email and I will get the TJT-3000 .pdf formated manual sent to you straight away.

Speaking of Spitfires which I love also.... Iam about to overhaul my Brian Taylor 83" span. I really am amazed how theres still really no offering of a decent sized "scale" Spit kit or ARF on the market for the serious scale modeller. The Brian Taylor is beautiful but requires a lot of work building the wings in the traditional manner, at least you can now get a glass fuz which makes the build a little easier. Theres the Yellow Mk XIX of course but what about a 1/5 Mk 1 through VIII.
Got to wonder just when the Chinese are going to break into the larger ARF warbird market
Old 07-01-2008, 02:25 PM
  #16  
drs.p.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mönchengladbach, GERMANY
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Marty, i got everything from Ron. Thank you! In the meantime I tested the jet engine. It started right away, without any problems. I like the smell. I will test the trust, when its fitted in the Airmacchi. Oh by the way: If the gas valve maces sounds, do I have to buy a new one?

Spitfires…!!... If you need an ARF one, I only know one, which is very, very good it’s 260m (105”), 16,5-17,5 kg build for a 80 ccm two cylinder with cooling though wing.. it’s a real spitfire (MK 5 b) with the same sound. I had two of them. (see gallery) I will build the Belgian one (Mk XIV or so) in red with white stripes one day. Years ago Andreas Gietz (composiete arf) produced that one. Now Uwe Henn made a niew one based on the same airplain. www.fc-scaleparts.de 0049-171-8204234 It could be something for you. It’s a good basis for a scale model. If you need absolute scale, i have some old contacts in england, may be i can refresh those contacts.
Best wishes from the other site of the world
Peter
Old 07-01-2008, 06:25 PM
  #17  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Peter, Let me know if/when you ever need gas or fuel valves as we have plenty in stock to suit the TJT...

Re- Spitfires, yes I have seen Uwes' Spitfire and only recently was inquiring about it infact and his new Bf-109 also, pricey but both are extremely beautiful models. I already have the Brian Taylor 69" Mk XIX and 83" Mk VIII versions and soon also a Yellow Aircraft Mk XIV Spitfire will be joining the fleet. The problem for us down under is the shipping costs from Europe to Australia its really a deal breaker much of the time. That said I recently have had a few SisT FW-190 kits brought over from Germany for some die hard scale warbird customers of ours, "well worth it by the way". If we could get around the prohibitive freight costs Iam sure we would see many more of these and Uwes' models over here in Australia. The Aviation Design Spitfire also looks interesting! have you seen or heard much about these?? Anyway I may yet still bring one of Uwe's Spit's in for myself in the not to distant future.

Cheers- Marty

Old 12-02-2008, 05:29 PM
  #18  
S.W.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Quiet place, SINGAPORE
Posts: 549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Ron,

Mine is this TJT3000 model, not sure if it's a V1 or V2 or??? i bought it off from an Australian jet flyer called Garry Turner two years ago, it is running well with a FADEC ecu i bought new from FADEC website.

http://www.xicoy.com/catalog/

But after reading this thread i'm very happy JETFX is carrying new parts and upgrades for this brand of engine, it's a good-running engine!

I am not sure of it's thrust values also, Marty, do you know what is the thrust for my turbine? I was told it pushes out 30lbs of thrust. I flew this engine with the Skymasterjet F-15 airframe a year ago, empty weight was 14.25kg and still flew well, i know this F-15's dry weight should be around 11kg but it seems to be putting out good amounts of thrust. I was flying an early version F-15 which is heavier.

I am currently painting a new Skymasterjet F18F Super Hornet and will be putting this engine into it. Should the thrust be enough Marty? or is there a thrust upgrade for my engine also? Frankly i only want to do scale flying. If mine puts out 30lbs i am happy already. I have adjusted the ecu to provide even better acceleration/deceleration and tested thoroughly on the bench and it performs very well now.

My F-15 flight video link below, that is my first taste of jet flying, foregive my kangaro landing at the end though, that was only the 2nd flight in the video! LOL!

http://rcuvideos.com/video/StevenWon...-2nd-flight-vi

Cheers!

Steven Wong from Sunny Singapore
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45437.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	1082849   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nj25359.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	1082850   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tz67117.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	1082851   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ey70426.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	1082852   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kv15052.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	1082853   Click image for larger version

Name:	Du21065.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	1082854   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bd65669.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	1082855   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xw76287.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	1082856  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca51726.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	1082857   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kw97456.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	1082858   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hn61682.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	1082859   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zk48401.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	1082860  
Old 12-07-2008, 01:47 AM
  #19  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Steven, I believe you do have a TJT-3000 V2 which is the 30 lb thrust version from what I can see from your pics. I will find out for you to confirm this however and let you know. The V2 spec 3000 is easily capable of powering your F-18F in a scale like flight manner in my opinion, of course this is pressuming you are using a well maintained appropriate length flying field/strip.

FYI both the F-18 and F-18 Super Hornet ideally require the use of flaps for both take off and landing so a little homework asking opinions from those who have experience flying the model in regard to correct flight trim set up and you should have no worries

Hope this helps
Cheers- Marty
Old 12-07-2008, 11:12 AM
  #20  
S.W.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Quiet place, SINGAPORE
Posts: 549
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Thanks a lot Marty! Appreciate your quick reply

Yes i have read a lot of threads regarding full flaps take-offs with gentle application of 'up' elevator at end of ROG run. And also the positive AOA angle for the jet so it won't 'jump-off' during take-off. I have read many of your threads in this forum replying to many queries and they are a source of good information for me too I have the option to fly off grass in one location and also from asphalt runway from a micro-light airfield. Maiden flight C.G. for my Super Hornet will be set at 140mm, SkymasterJet on-line manual specified.

Thanks again Marty! Will email you if i have more queries, Thanks and Cheers!

Steven Wong from Sunny Singapore
Old 02-26-2010, 06:02 PM
  #21  
PerErik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lillehammer, NORWAY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hello Jet FX.
I know this is an old thread but I'll give it a try...
I have bought a TJT 3000 v2 with the AU-303 fadec and I get the manual with it. I have search the net for it but with no luck. Now that I found this thread Ithought I just as well ask you if you still have the operators manual and if you please would email me a copy?

Best regards
Per Erik Worum
Old 02-26-2010, 06:06 PM
  #22  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Eric, No problems please feel free to PM me your email address and I will send you a .PDF file version of the TJT-3000 V2 owners manual.

Brg- Marty
Old 02-26-2010, 06:12 PM
  #23  
PerErik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lillehammer, NORWAY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Wow, that was quick...[X(]
Great service.

Thank you very much.

Best regards
Per Erik
Old 04-01-2010, 12:49 PM
  #24  
ITALY58
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: LATINA, ITALY
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hello Marty, JET FX.
My name is Roberto and i am an italian jet flyer happy owner of TJT3000.

I am also interest to upgrade my TJT3000 to V2 with normarl start (no kero start).
Let me now price, time to upgrade it (fly season is at door).
Ciao,
Roberto
Old 04-01-2010, 07:16 PM
  #25  
JET FX
Senior Member
 
JET FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TJT-3000 Thrust Output

Hi Roberto, We would need to first establish if your 3000 is a later spec engine and see if new components are interchangeble. Please feel free to email me directly with further details of your TJT 3000 if you could send me some photos of turbine and ECU and its history I should be able to establish if its an early or late production engine.

Brg- Marty

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.