Notices
Toy-Grade RC Products Post in here about toy-grade rc products and the mods you''re making to them. These typically fall in the sub $100 range.

Broken Lobo II

Old 01-03-2010, 10:07 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bayshore, NY
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Lobo II

Hi, my nephew has an old Sear's Lobo II sand rail two wheel drive with the front shock towers broken off. The shock towers are part of the whole chassis (Toy Grade). What I would like to know is does someone know of a way to fix it, or maybe someone knows of a cheap chassis I could get him to put the parts into. Failing that maybe someone would know of a fun project we could do with the mechanics.
Old 01-03-2010, 10:26 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
texx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: , QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

chopper1one..
Welcome to the forum ..

I have no knowledge of cars, but I find this pic ..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	db83836.jpg
Views:	736
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	1348849   Click image for larger version

Name:	xs58413.jpg
Views:	339
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	1348850  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:45 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bayshore, NY
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

Yep, thats the one. He wants to make it run or make something out of it. I just found a picture of one also his is yellow. Without the tops of the shocks mounted to the car it cant steer. That is the only problem he is having. The batteries and charger still work.

Attached Images  
Old 01-04-2010, 01:15 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

Chopper1one,

Could you post some better pics???? I think i may have rail chassis.
Old 01-04-2010, 01:24 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bayshore, NY
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

I will get some the next time I am over there. The photo I got was off the internet. What do you want pictures of so I know what to shoot.
Old 01-19-2010, 06:18 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

Hey chopper1one,

I have a Tyco bandit, which has similair shock mounts. One was broken but I was able to fix it with a piece of "Meccano". I can get a picture if you'd like.
Old 02-04-2010, 07:21 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bayshore, NY
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II


ORIGINAL: cobra69
Could you post some better pics???? I think i may have rail chassis.
Here you go I got them from my nephew the other day.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33652.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	1371628   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez82609.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	1371629   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq36804.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	1371630   Click image for larger version

Name:	Au56939.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	1371631   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sd43462.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	1371632  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:09 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Victor, MT
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

WOW! You just took meback 20+ years. The red one was the first RC I ever had my hands on. My buddy owned one when I was in the 1st grade. Anyhow. If you could get some close up shots of where the shocks broke and the area around the front that you can mount things too, it might help us. A little closer than what you have posted. Off the top of my head I would say take to your LHS and see what shocks will fit. After you get the shocks it looks like a "L" bracket might hold it all in place if you have enough solid area up front to mount it to. Do you still have the broken parts ?
Old 03-29-2010, 12:25 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rowlett, TX
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

maybe try some panel bond. you can find it at most automotive shops. its a two part system, sorta like jb weld, but for plastics. thats been holding the mirror on my s-10 for a while now. im not too sure how well it would hold up to parts under stress (like if he wants it for bashing), but it could be a cheap fix. i used to see guys in the body shop put body panels on with this stuff, so it should be tough enough.
Old 05-07-2010, 01:11 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pville, MI
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II



i also havr a lobo 2 rc car. it still runs great, especially since i ditched to 20 yr old ni-cd and replaced with a 2400mAh ni-mh. but recently ive been thinkning bout upgrading the motor. now is that at ALL possible? or would a new/bigger motor burn up my pcb or my gears? and i cant seem to get the rear axle apart to take the motor out. 1 rod with nuts on each end? thank you</p>
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xu62758.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	281.2 KB
ID:	1432203   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id96272.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	283.6 KB
ID:	1432204   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57341.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	278.4 KB
ID:	1432205  
Old 05-07-2010, 08:00 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: greenfield, IN
Posts: 533
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

i found losi thin tire glue even works on plastic, and they do also makehobby grade super glue forplastics. just check withyour lhs.
Old 02-23-2012, 08:30 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: , VA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

I know this is an old thread - but Im a first time user and have been searching for a while about this.


I have the old Sears Lobo 2 (red) from my childhood and I still love this thing. However, the antenna on the remote is broken (almost half missing) and it really degrades the range that I use it. Im limited to about 15 ft max. Is there a fix, replacement, etc for this? Could it be something on the car? But the car has its antenna in tact

Any help would be appreicated!!<br type="_moz" />
Old 02-26-2012, 05:50 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Edgewood, TX
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Broken Lobo II

I have one of these from about '86 or '87, white, so far I've managed to keep from breaking the antennae. I've taken toy remotes with broken antennae before and just used coat hanger wire or some similar stiff wire pushed into the the old antennae and then "crimped onto the new wire. It's not pretty but will work. You just need to make the "new" antennae the same length as the old one. I have an eight year old and a 4 year old, now anytime an old rc toy breaks I take the antennae off of the remotes before I toss it, so I can usually find a spare that will work. If the crimp doesn't hold tight enough it can be soldered. You can even use a long straw glued to it with with just a piece of copper wire pulled through it and soldered to what's left of the old anntenae.


Austin

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.