Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic
Reload this Page >

1-K Heater fuel grade Kero okay?

Notices
Turbine Clinic Get direct support from the major turbine manufacturer support reps in here.

1-K Heater fuel grade Kero okay?

Old 10-18-2020, 09:15 AM
900LX_driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1-K Heater fuel grade Kero okay?

Hey guys,

I'm new to turbines so I triple check everything - sorry for the dumb questions. Swiwin recommends running Kero through their motors (and it's about impossible to get Jet-A from an FBO where I'm at), so I came across some "Klean strip" 1-K heater fuel Kerosene. I'm assuming that will work fine?

Thanks!
Old 10-18-2020, 10:38 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 102 Likes on 84 Posts

You don't have pump kero available near you?
Old 10-18-2020, 11:17 AM
900LX_driver

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
You don't have pump kero available near you?
Not anywhere close, no.
Old 10-18-2020, 11:02 PM
ravill

Received 69 Likes on 58 Posts

Yes, 1-k kerosene is just fine.
The following users liked this post:
900LX_driver (10-20-2020)
Old 10-19-2020, 12:46 PM
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)

Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts

I used 1-K when I first started flying turbines for a little while as well. It was just too expensive. When I started putting 4-5 flights per trip to the field it became cost prohibitive, so I pivoted to Jet-A1. You're going to burn a lot more kero than you did on gasoline prop-planes. I have 120cc prop planes and they sip fuel compared to my turbines.

Last edited by skunkwurk; 10-19-2020 at 12:50 PM.
900LX_driver (10-20-2020)
Old 10-20-2020, 08:30 PM
900LX_driver

Hey Fellas,