Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic
Reload this Page >

Thermocouple extension

Notices
Turbine Clinic Get direct support from the major turbine manufacturer support reps in here.

Thermocouple extension

Old 04-08-2021, 02:58 PM
  #1  
mitchilito
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 372
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Thermocouple extension

I have a Wren 100 that has a thermocouple lead that ends in a (sort of) RC style connector that plugs into the xicoy ECU. Problem is, it's only about 15 inches. Can anyone tell me how to extend it to around 36 inches to reach my ECU? I don't think a standard RC extension is appropriate for this purpose?

Thanks!
Old 04-09-2021, 04:29 AM
  #2  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,874
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

You can use a standard servo extension. It may affect the thermocouple accuracy by a few degrees, not enough to worry about.
Just make sure the white and green connect properly.
Old 04-10-2021, 04:14 PM
  #3  
mitchilito
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 372
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Thanks! I used a twisted heavy duty extension and ran it today. Seemed to be showing nearly exact temps as no extension.

Time to fly!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.