Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

C160 transall build

Old 04-06-2004, 04:53 AM
RustyTumbles

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C160 transall build

Hi all,

I am new to twins and I have decided to build the CMPro c160 transall ARF. I was just after some input to this kit!! Is the hardware good? or should it be replaced with better stuff? Are there any weak points in the kit that I should reinforce while building? (i.e. Wing joints, undercarriage attachment points, etc) Also what are the flying characteristics of this plane like? I plan to run OS 25fx motors with 2 blade 9x6 props. Will those motors and props work well? Or should I use 3 blade props? I will post photos too, when I get the kit and throughout the build. Just need to know how to post photos!!!!
Old 04-06-2004, 10:08 PM
rryman
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: C160 transall build

Welcome to the Transall world. There are some other threads on here that have a good bit of info on them. I am running OS .25LA engines on mine, and it's plenty of power. The .25FX should really do a job.
I think the kit overall is great. Nice work on the fiberglass and paint. I had no complaints about that.
What I was not impressed with was the axle hardware for the nose gear. It promptly stripped out for me, so I silver soldered my own. Can't really think of anything else that I had a problem with. I did increase the size of the wing hold down bolts from what they were. They just looked a little small for me, but may have been OK, since the fuselage is very light. All in all, the whole plane finishes out to be very light. I don't fly mine in windy conditions. I did once, but it wasn't pretty, it gets bounced around a bit. someone else on one of the C-160 threads is from Australia too.
Good luck,
Randy
Old 04-07-2004, 05:08 AM
RustyTumbles