Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Tu-95: Swept Wing Design???

Community
Search
Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Tu-95: Swept Wing Design???

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2005, 05:29 PM
Multimaniac

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tu-95: Swept Wing Design???

Hello Boys out there!

Together with a friend I am working, or better still CAD-designing a Tu-95 "Bear". So far, the size will be 3,00 m of wingspan, about 2,8 m of length, and we think we well get it airborne at about 15 kg of weight, powered by 4x 6,5ccm.
Since this is my first scratch built plane with a swept back wing design, I have no experience with this.... so there are my two questions I hope somebody of you can help me:

1) Do I really need washout? (I never used washout on my "normal" twins and never had any problems, but as far as I know a backswept wing provides earlyer tip stalling, unfortunately...)

2) How do I best design the carrying structure of the balsa/plywood-wing??? I need to have a "corner" in the center of the wing, but I have no Idea how to do it best and most stable!?!

Chris
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge95308.jpg
Views:	335
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	366449  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:43 PM
grbaker
My Feedback: (29)

Received 26 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: Tu-95: Swept Wing Design???

You might want to contact B. B. Weber. He built this one. You can probably contact him thru the website.

http://www.bomberfieldusa.com/bbweber.htm
Old 12-08-2005, 07:46 AM
Multimaniac

WOW!!!! That's gigantic !!!!

I will contact him about this! (even if we will be a little smaller with our project...)
Old 12-09-2005, 02:26 AM
multiflyer