Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft
 Top Flite Cessna 310 posted >

Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Old 02-24-2007, 06:44 AM
  #1151  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

And a general rule of thumb for a 3-blade size is to go down one number in either lengthe or pitch from whatever 2-blade size you would use.

So if you were going to use an 11x7 2-blade, you could use a 10x7 or 11x6
Old 02-24-2007, 08:59 AM
  #1152  
My Feedback: (65)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Good morning Puncho,

Looks like you woke us all up! Seems like you have most of what you were asking taken care of. I just wanted to get a little more specific on a couple of things. First, I am going to use the 2 blade at first since it does produce more thrust than the 3 blade. After getting comfortable with the airplane I plan to mount 3 bladed props. I purchased 3 bladed 2.5" inch spinners from Tru Turn and they look great. As for the prop size, it depends on the engine you plan to use of course. I plan to use a 2 blade 12x6 APC prop on the O.S. 50SX engines I have. So far they are turning about 10,400 rpm on the ground. They are certainly not fully broken in and I expect to get several hundred more rpm when they are. When I go to the 3 bladed props I have purchased two sets. They are Master Airscrew 10x7, and Master Airscrew 11x7. On the Master Airscrew recommended prop size chart it tells you that to select the proper size 3 blade go DOWN in LENGTH one inch and UP in PITCH one inch. So, that gives me either a 10x7 or a 11x7 depending on your selection of props from the manufacturer's recommended prop range. One thing about this hobby and this forum is that you will have a wide variety of opinions and experience so it really is a blessing to have RCU. Now, to the gear size. It is indeed 3/16". My question is why are you concerned with the axle size? Are you going to buy different tires & wheels. The reason I ask is if you use the fixed gear it is awesome and is included. If you are going to buy the Robart gear, it has the axles with it. The kit even has the gear door mounts included so you don't have to be concerned about that either. Finally, I will tell you that while building my 310 I have been all over this thread many many times. I am almost finished and I still go back to make sure I didn't miss anything. There are tons of great ideas within this thread as well as issues that guys had and how they addressed them. It takes some time an effort to read this from start to finish but it is worth it. As you become familiar a little light bulb will come on when you have a question and while you may not remember the exact answer you will remember that it is there. Then all you have to do is go find it again. I can't tell you how many times I've had to do that. But these guys are great so it's all worth it. Sorry it took so long for us to help you out. Thank you for reminding us what we are all about here. If you have any more questions, and you will, let us know. Have an awesome weekend and happy building!
Old 02-24-2007, 04:10 PM
  #1153  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Here's some pictures of the start of the nose gear doors. We can waste lots of time trying to make this stuff work!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48264.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	628815   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qm35641.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	628816   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl19731.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	628817   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wp41185.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	628818   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju12798.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	628819   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yo91987.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	628820  
Old 02-24-2007, 04:44 PM
  #1154  
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

That's realy slick!! What did you use for the light on the nose strut?

Galen

Old 02-24-2007, 05:46 PM
  #1155  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

It's a penlight Maglight lens with a bright white diode. Dave Turner is working on the main inner gear doors should have pictures tomarrow..
Old 02-24-2007, 07:16 PM
  #1156  
My Feedback: (65)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Could you give us some details to go along with the pics when you get a moment. What is the material on the strut that the wood slides down? By the way, got the Baron plans. They are awesome!
Thank you!
Old 02-24-2007, 07:25 PM
  #1157  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Glad you like the Barron -55 plans!!!
I took a pc. of nyrod and glued it to the strut to lde the wood shoe glued to the door slide on. a rubberband does all the work.
Old 02-24-2007, 08:15 PM
  #1158  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , FL
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Thanks for all the help guys, it's greatly appreciated.
Old 02-24-2007, 08:43 PM
  #1159  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berthoud, CO
Posts: 839
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

On the throttle linkage situation, did you consider using DuBro 4-stroke linkages? They mount on the engine mount and give you a lot of flexibility in reaching the throttle arm.
Old 02-24-2007, 09:10 PM
  #1160  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

I got mine today, picked it up at the WRAM Show in N.Y. They have 1 more if anyone in the N.Y. area is looking for one. I have my OS 50's already, waiting for mufflers and retracts.

R/C Foolish
Old 02-24-2007, 09:35 PM
  #1161  
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Bruckner Hobbies right? Saw them yesterday. $439.00. Bill and I were looking at them.

Bob

Old 02-24-2007, 09:38 PM
  #1162  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Yup, I talked to Bill before the show opened this morning and he told me to go down ASAP. Great deal, heading downstairs shortly to open box and take a better peak. If I didn't have another project going, I would jump right into this. Going to take my time and do it up.

R/C Foolish
Old 02-25-2007, 01:00 PM
  #1163  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

How about a nosewheel spat??
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yv65964.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	629478  
Old 02-25-2007, 03:51 PM
  #1164  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Painted
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57026.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	629605  
Old 02-25-2007, 04:05 PM
  #1165  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
orvel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Show off! Great job! Now what you need to to is build a few of them and sell them to us who are less talented! TSPilot, I take it that even with the spat there would still be plenty of clearance to fully retract and conceal the gear with the working doors fully closed, yes?
Old 02-25-2007, 04:47 PM
  #1166  
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

I went to the WRAM show in NY on Friday. Great Planes was there with a display and they had a 310 there for show. They had the front strut mounted backwards on it!

That fender looks Great Teamscale Pilot!

Bob
Old 02-25-2007, 05:17 PM
  #1167  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Retracts fine made it from glassing over the next size bigger tire wraped with saran wrap. 2 layers of 10 oz. cloth with CA, some bondo to fill the cloth.
Old 02-25-2007, 05:44 PM
  #1168  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
orvel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Teamscalepilot, the steering arm in your nose retract, did you have to bend the ends at a 90 degree angle to install the ball links or did it come already pre-bent? The instruction book also shows them already bent but doesn't mention anything about bending them. In mine, the steering arm is straight and I'm concerned that if I try to bend tips it at that sharp angle, they it might break off!
Old 02-25-2007, 08:43 PM
  #1169  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

They bend easy. now problems..
Old 02-25-2007, 08:55 PM
  #1170  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

No problems. Main gear doors tomarrow.
Old 02-25-2007, 09:52 PM
  #1171  
My Feedback: (65)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Be careful. On my first one a small crack developed when I was bending it. The next one I used a soldering iron to heat it up first and it bent without cracking. I then used a little JB Weld just for good measure. Probably overkill but what the heck!
Old 02-26-2007, 09:46 AM
  #1172  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bayfield, CO
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Augie,
Thanks for the DuPro throttle linkage suggestion. I wish the picture on line was bigger so I could see more detail. Saito.82s will be here tomorrow so then I can start on the engine install.
Bobby
Old 02-26-2007, 03:11 PM
  #1173  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berthoud, CO
Posts: 839
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

My pleasure. Hope it helps. Good luck with those 82's !
Old 02-26-2007, 05:27 PM
  #1174  
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Nice Job on the Spat TSP... Really think is should have been included for $350.00.
Anyway. Very Nice.
I wonder who will be the first to Kit Bash a "B" Model. Duke wing tanks and streight Fin and Rudder.
Old 02-26-2007, 05:58 PM
  #1175  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Duke??? Where's one to bash.. I heard rumors of a 90" Cessna 421!!!!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.