Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Notices
Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft Discuss the ins & outs of building & flying multi engine rc aircraft here.

Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Old 03-20-2007, 06:40 AM
  #1401  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Allen,

I think I'm going to use Mike's suggestion and safety wire mine.

Good luck with your maiden!

Bob

Old 03-20-2007, 06:53 AM
  #1402  
handyman_alw_
My Feedback: (14)
 
handyman_alw_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Springdale, AR
Posts: 307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Bob,

Me too and now is the time since i have them off . I am going to wait until may the 19th to madien mine, I will be in muskogge oklahoma that weekend and we get to fly off of a colsed full scale airport with nothing around it for almost a mile in all directions but nicely cut grass.Plus the other part of that is a buddy of mine down there is a top gun pilot and has about ten times the hours with twins that i do so i have always let him do the madiens on all of my twins. call me funny but i don't like to take chances with a new plane and he has always been good luck for me so i guess i will stick to the program.[sm=tongue_smile.gif] My nerves are always calmer after he flies the first flight.

Allen
Old 03-20-2007, 06:53 AM
  #1403  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

One thing worth mentioning about the safety wire method - Make sure you carry some extra wire in your flight box in case you ever need to remove the cowls at the field.
Old 03-20-2007, 06:58 AM
  #1404  
handyman_alw_
My Feedback: (14)
 
handyman_alw_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Springdale, AR
Posts: 307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

By the way bob how close are you to flying yours?

Allen
Old 03-20-2007, 07:38 AM
  #1405  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Allen,

I was a lot closer before last Friday night when we got 14 inches of new snow!

It's not finished yet. I've still got to do the throttle linkages, modify the cowls, pull pull steering and epoxy the wing tips.

I'm sure it will be finished before the snow is all gone.

Bob
Old 03-20-2007, 08:27 AM
  #1406  
R/C Foolish
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BILLERICA, MA
Posts: 1,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

To all,

Drilling the extensions is easy, just follow MinnFlyers diagram. I did mine last night in about 20 minutes, just make sure your drill bit is sharp. Robart says that they will have more gear in about 2 weeks. I just have a bunch of small stuff left to do, needles valve stems, switches, fuel fill, and then the retracts. I have the air system installed already just need the gear itself.

R/C Foolish

I only have about 10 inches of snow here....
Old 03-20-2007, 02:28 PM
  #1407  
Fearless Freddie
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Emerald Isle, NC
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Teamscalepilot,

Enjoyed your elecrtic build posts. I'm going to do the electric route on this 310 this summer too. I built a E power Dual Ace to gain experience in twin flight... I'm a bit green.

Your placement of the lipos in the nacelles was interesting and I was curious how you were going to do the access for them. You made me wait till the end to see......maybe it was puzzling you too? I put the batteries in the nose of my Ace . Would that not be possible or practical in this 310 too? I haven't yet bought the kit .......but I'm making up my plans early. I plan on using two Eflite Power 60 outrunners on 6S.

Thanks for all the info .

Fred
Old 03-20-2007, 08:08 PM
  #1408  
teamscalepilot
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

these pictures should answer your questions..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58204.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	646211   Click image for larger version

Name:	To45054.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	646212   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79358.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	646213  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:41 PM
  #1409  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 798
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Here is the way I solved the charging , air service, switch and pressure gages. I cut out right rear door as you can see. I wish my retracts would come in . I hope the pictures show up I have not posted pictures before . Dan Avilla
Attached Images   
Old 03-20-2007, 08:53 PM
  #1410  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 798
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

I will make the pictures larger so they can be blown up. Dan Avilla
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19305.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	646270   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq50232.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	646271  
Old 03-20-2007, 09:00 PM
  #1411  
raflyer
Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

ORIGINAL: Fearless Freddie

Teamscalepilot,

Enjoyed your elecrtic build posts. I'm going to do the electric route on this 310 this summer too. I built a E power Dual Ace to gain experience in twin flight... I'm a bit green.

Your placement of the lipos in the nacelles was interesting and I was curious how you were going to do the access for them. You made me wait till the end to see......maybe it was puzzling you too? I put the batteries in the nose of my Ace . Would that not be possible or practical in this 310 too? I haven't yet bought the kit .......but I'm making up my plans early. I plan on using two Eflite Power 60 outrunners on 6S.

Thanks for all the info .

Fred
Do you plan on entering air races with that set-up!??


I guess thats the trend now days, over power everything and fly off the props instead of the wings.

Go to a scale contest and look at the weights vs power ratios, VERY realistic! I saw a Beech D18, 45+lbs on 2 Zenoah 38's, now try flying that bird on one Z38!! But you know what,, had MORE than enough power to fly scale.

I don't mean any of this in a bad way, just curious as to why this trend is what it is.
Old 03-20-2007, 09:02 PM
  #1412  
raflyer
Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted


ORIGINAL: DAN AVILLA

I will make the pictures larger so they can be blown up. Dan Avilla
VERY NICE!!! I like it!
Old 03-20-2007, 09:10 PM
  #1413  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Dan,

I love it!

Bob
Old 03-20-2007, 09:37 PM
  #1414  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Damn, wish I had thought of that. Would have been a great place to hide the switch/charging jack
Old 03-21-2007, 12:41 AM
  #1415  
Super Hot
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Quebec, QC, CANADA
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Good job Dan

What kind of pressure gage you use?

J-Jacques
Old 03-21-2007, 06:29 AM
  #1416  
MMallory
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 1,149
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Dan,

I was going to do the same thing but was worried about cutting the only structural reinforcement. Did you add stringers or was the fuse stiff enough with that one cut? Also, it looks like you made a small handle. Is that a wroking latch or a magnet?

Good job by the way.

Mark
Old 03-21-2007, 06:57 AM
  #1417  
lilfreedom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: florence, KY
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Hey guys
finally got my 310 yesterday. i have been reading this forum for weeks. no one mentioned on how much there plane weighs with retracts and those 50sx's
what kind of battery packs there using?
phil
Old 03-21-2007, 07:05 AM
  #1418  
raflyer
Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted


ORIGINAL: lilfreedom

Hey guys
finally got my 310 yesterday. i have been reading this forum for weeks. no one mentioned on how much there plane weighs with retracts and those 50sx's
what kind of battery packs there using?
phil
19-20lbs w/retracts and the 50sx's are nitro engines
Old 03-21-2007, 07:24 AM
  #1419  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

How about balance?

I needed about 2 oz of lead in the tail.

Anyone else?
Old 03-21-2007, 07:31 AM
  #1420  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Mike,

Did you balance with wheels retracted or extended?

Bob
Old 03-21-2007, 07:42 AM
  #1421  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Hmm, good question, to tell you the truth, i don't remember, but I would have to guess that they were extended.

I see where you're going. with the nose wheel back, I may need to remove the weight
Old 03-21-2007, 07:59 AM
  #1422  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Mike,

You'd probably be OK a little nose heavy for landing and take off. It would be worth checking it with the gear retracted

Bob
Old 03-21-2007, 08:19 AM
  #1423  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

I think I will do that. Thanks
Old 03-21-2007, 09:12 AM
  #1424  
ACP Engineering
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: , WI
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

MinnFlyer

I balanced my C310 at the field inverted with the wheels up and I hit the balance point +/- 1/4". She flew great and I expected that I would need to land with some addtional air speed "flying brick and all".
ORIGINAL: MinnFlyer

How about balance?

I needed about 2 oz of lead in the tail.

Anyone else?
Old 03-21-2007, 09:23 AM
  #1425  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 310 posted

Oh yea, I don't expect this thing to be a "Floater"

Nor do I want it to be!

I like Heavy airplanes

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.