RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Twin & Multi Engine RC Aircraft (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/twin-multi-engine-rc-aircraft-192/)
-   -   Do I need Twinsync (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/twin-multi-engine-rc-aircraft-192/9406154-do-i-need-twinsync.html)

n2ryd 01-11-2010 08:00 AM

Do I need Twinsync

Hi all,

I am new to twins, I am currently building a Twin-Air 45. The choice of power are Saito 56s.

Both have been broken in on my trusty trainer, but one engine is much stronger then the other( higher rpm).

Will this cause me problems?

If it dose will twinsync help me out and make it more enjoyable to fly with out woring about a engine out problem.

Any help would be great.

Bob(N2RYD)

R8893 01-11-2010 08:23 AM

RE: Do I need Twinsync

i have same situation with a pair of OS .52's. I run the strong one rich to get the high speed rpm " in the ball park," maybe as much as 500 rpm different. No synchronizers. Looks a little wierd with the different exhaust smoke trails, but flies just fine.

ronwc 01-11-2010 12:12 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Most twins you are better off keeping them simple, perfect sync is not that critical and can be adjusted with a linkage if needed. Gyros, synchronizers, flaps, retracts, complacated tanks, ect add complication that sometimes just aren't needed IMHO -

Ryon L. 01-11-2010 07:24 PM

I am a big fan of the TwinSync. Syncronized engine sound better to me. The big plus of a TwinSync, for me, is that when/if an engine dies, the good engine will follow it to idle. This feature stops the initate yaw factor that takes place while one engine is dying and the other is still at power. Turns your powered airplane into a heavy glider untell you reset the throttle.

NikolayTT 01-13-2010 09:40 AM

Surely Syncho-sound is great, but that is mostly sound effect in general.
I would think it is more critical that one has independent gyroscopes for each of the two rudders;