Notices
Walkera Helis - Dragonfly, etc.. Discuss Walkera Dragonfly Helis and any Walkera products in this forum

WALKERA 37

Old 08-25-2006, 08:19 PM
  #526  
soneebee
 
soneebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: las pinas, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2,404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Some of the metal parts on the head really is kinda flimsy, the mixing arm should really have thread lock on it , the nut seem to loosen up if there is no loctite..... keep us posted...


ORIGINAL: W37 Cepeda


ORIGINAL: soneebee

hey cepeda.. what happened to your review of the 60C? how was is during your test?

I still have 60C here with me, as a matter of fact, I have done some minor mods to it. I will have the pictures soon, but my camera has a problem with the usb port, I had to send it back. I should have it by Monday next week. I will show my Df37 and df60c side by side. Maybe have some flight hover videos too. right know the 60c is not flight worthy, hence some of the metal parts have loose ball linkages screws, that won't tighten, cause the aluminum material in the hole threads have been damaged due to overtighten probably by the seller. Im waiting on some thread locking adhesive, if not, I'm going to have to replace that upper crank arm entirely, or tap in a new hole.

I will have it ready soon for another flight test.. and hopefully this time it perform as expected.


Old 08-25-2006, 08:52 PM
  #527  
mcdaniel
Senior Member
 
mcdaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: stodgo, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hey Cepeda thanks for yours info , some store have different parts # item, I thinks this fit in 37,it comes with two tail boom w/servo mount ,what is yours opinion of this. its part #AGNHZ030
http://www.hobbieguyrc.com/shop/cart...tegory_id=1312
Old 08-25-2006, 10:46 PM
  #528  
joepenguin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

I can confirm that it will fit the 37, I bent the stock boom so I replaced it with the align one.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49495.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	513226  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:22 PM
  #529  
mcdaniel
Senior Member
 
mcdaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: stodgo, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Thanks bro,
I will be order soon
Old 08-26-2006, 04:20 AM
  #530  
soneebee
 
soneebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: las pinas, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2,404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Cepeda,

need to confirm on the perfomance on the DF60C heli. its on the RX-701 and GY-007, does it have glitches also.. the RX 607 is full of it.. just like to know if the 701 7Ch RX has it also.. Haven't seen any guy who has it...

Old 08-26-2006, 04:52 AM
  #531  
balance_mind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: --, SINGAPORE
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

ORIGINAL: soneebee

Cepeda,

need to confirm on the perfomance on the DF60C heli. its on the RX-701 and GY-007, does it have glitches also.. the RX 607 is full of it.. just like to know if the 701 7Ch RX has it also.. Haven't seen any guy who has it...
Trying to find that out too. Have post this qns in the #60 thread but no one has the answer.

Soneebee, what other glitches you have encountered so far?
Old 08-26-2006, 09:25 AM
  #532  
soneebee
 
soneebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: las pinas, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2,404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Well on the RX 607, i have encountered full cut off power, Reset ESC, servo jittering, loose communication.. most of the bad ones... it seem that the 607 although PCM has glitches.... weird this should not be...


ORIGINAL: balance_mind

ORIGINAL: soneebee

Cepeda,

need to confirm on the perfomance on the DF60C heli. its on the RX-701 and GY-007, does it have glitches also.. the RX 607 is full of it.. just like to know if the 701 7Ch RX has it also.. Haven't seen any guy who has it...
Trying to find that out too. Have post this qns in the #60 thread but no one has the answer.

Soneebee, what other glitches you have encountered so far?
Old 08-26-2006, 12:59 PM
  #533  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

No, I don't have this one.
I have the carbon fiber boom, but you must understand, that the original boom on the DF37 is shorter, about one inch,
so you must cut of on inch in order for you to install it.

W37 Cepeda

ORIGINAL: mcdaniel

Hey Cepeda thanks for yours info , some store have different parts # item, I thinks this fit in 37,it comes with two tail boom w/servo mount ,what is yours opinion of this. its part #AGNHZ030
http://www.hobbieguyrc.com/shop/cart...tegory_id=1312
Old 08-26-2006, 01:07 PM
  #534  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

The DF60 Glitch issue.

I does exist. I have encontered it numerous times. It was easily fixed by re positioning the
reciever away from th ESC and shortening the antenna a couple of inches. Then place it behind the copter.. So far it is working fine. The glitching went away.

But please be adviced, it does not mean that what I did will work for you. RF problems are random at best and so is the solutions.


W37
Old 08-28-2006, 07:45 AM
  #535  
armycopter
Senior Member
 
armycopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Biddeford, ME
Posts: 616
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hey cepeda, what does shortening the antenna do? I have been noticing a small "glitch" on my 37 over the past month or so, which I cannot trace down. It usually happens only once during a 20 minute flight. What happens is, while I'm hovering, the motor seems to cut off for less than half a second and then it recovers. It's not a major glitch, it's more annoying than anything. It does not cause the aircraft to do anything more than lose an inch or two of altitude and yaw slightly. I don't know if this is a receiver or esc problem. It really doesn't affect my flying and it almost always happens only once during a flight. My receiver is all the way to the back of the frame, while my esc is mounted on the side. The antenna routes forward through the frame and then back down through the tube connected to the gear.

Any thoughts?
Old 08-28-2006, 11:02 AM
  #536  
ellcheepo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LeedsEngland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Guys, just a thought that is you shorten the Ariel on the Rx then you will be changing the frequency range that it is suppose to be set for, as the lenght of an Ariel should be in direct relation to the length of the wave for the frequency you are trying to receive. I took your advice W37 in that I got the pinion gears for the Align T-Rex heli's. bit disapointed that you can't get the 9, 10, size in the 3.17 size bit of a shame as I like having a higher gear ratio although the head speed will be less it does give more flight time.
Old 08-28-2006, 01:25 PM
  #537  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

The reason I shorten the antenna on the Df60 and only by 1 3/4 of the wavelengh, is to de-sensatize it. This fixed the over sensative state of the RX unit and made the glitching go away.

This is no means is a solution! PLEASE BE ADVICED. If you cut to much or to little, you will reduce the reception range or even worse introduce noise harmonics. Also you will not change the frequency range if you cut the wire. The frequency is already set by the crystal oscillator circuit in your remote and the reciever. Cutting the wire inproperly will reduce your distance on how far you can fly the helicopter.

So don't do it. I normally fly the helicopter not no more than 40 feet away from me. And that is usauly to much, cause I can't see it as clearly.

Army, as for you problem.. you might want to separate a bit the wires going from the ESC to the motor. You could be arcing. This happened to me. Also on my DF37, I was gltiching alot, one solution was I took the crystal out of the remote control, and reversed the installation. It made a big difference. Just pull the tab out, and install it the the other way, Test. if it gets worse, then pull it out again, and install the previouse way.



ORIGINAL: armycopter

Hey cepeda, what does shortening the antenna do? I have been noticing a small "glitch" on my 37 over the past month or so, which I cannot trace down. It usually happens only once during a 20 minute flight. What happens is, while I'm hovering, the motor seems to cut off for less than half a second and then it recovers. It's not a major glitch, it's more annoying than anything. It does not cause the aircraft to do anything more than lose an inch or two of altitude and yaw slightly. I don't know if this is a receiver or esc problem. It really doesn't affect my flying and it almost always happens only once during a flight. My receiver is all the way to the back of the frame, while my esc is mounted on the side. The antenna routes forward through the frame and then back down through the tube connected to the gear.

Any thoughts?
Old 08-29-2006, 03:00 AM
  #538  
HP03 BlackHawk
Senior Member
 
HP03 BlackHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NLR, AR
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

What do you mean you shortened your antenna by only 1 3/4 wavelength? It's a 1/4 wave antenna... Are you sure you know what you are talking about?


[sm=lol.gif]
Old 08-29-2006, 07:59 AM
  #539  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

I know what I'm talking about. I'm a amatuer radio operator. KC2FTO

I will use the quad wave length formula to make this issue clear.

So, for exactly 72.850 MHZ (example) , what amount of wire you will need
if you will want to make a 1/4 wave length aerial antenna?

The formula states that for a quater wave length aerial antenna you take 234 and divide by the freq.
We have: 234 divided by 72.850MHZ = that will make your quad 3.212 feet long.

WHAT? We don't have 3.212 feet of wire in the helicopter? Oh yes you do.
Inside the reciever unit , in series with the black wire coming out, you have a series
of coils. These coils are wounded up to complete 3.212 feet or 38.5 inches, needed
to achieve quarter-wave length of a frequency near 72mhz. and I said NEAR, not exact.

The issue that lies with Walkera recievers are these.. The coil inside the unit is probably made
by some cheap company, and do you actually believe that the antenna wire is of proper
length? The DF60 was longer by almost 2 inches in comparison to my DF37.

So I cut of 1 3/4 (1.75 inches) from it, to desensitize it. Which meens since the quad antenna does no longer
match the 1/4 wave length of the frequency, I drop a couple of db signal gain. Which in my case
ceased the jittering.

[X(]Now ..this is asuming that it is in fact 1/4 wavelength. It could very well be 5/8. There is no way of knowing
for sure unless we contact Walkera. But, looking at the remote control and the antenna extending over 3 feet,
it could very well be.

Any questions concerning this? just post

W37






Old 08-29-2006, 08:20 AM
  #540  
HP03 BlackHawk
Senior Member
 
HP03 BlackHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NLR, AR
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

First you said you shortened it a couple of inches then you say 1 3/4 wavelength and now it's 1.75 inches and it's funny that KC2FTO is in Hackensack, NJ and you are in Pompano Beach, FL ...What's next? [sm=lol.gif]
Old 08-29-2006, 08:40 AM
  #541  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

1 3/4 converted to inches is 1.75. I'm talking about cutting, not frequency. just because I did not put "of" or "from" does not mean anything.
I explained it after the fact, and that is what matters.

My call sign is Kc2Fto.. I got my lic# in NJ, when I was living in Hackensack back in 99, Now I live in Pompano Beach, Florida, cause I moved here in the begining of this year and transfered my lic#.


http://www.arrl.org/fcc/fcclook.php3?call=kc2fto look me up.

Here's another, a goverment institution THE FCC..

http://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsApp/UlsS...rchLicense.jsp type in my call sign.




W37


Old 08-29-2006, 09:08 AM
  #542  
EL Mecano
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , NJ
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hey W37 Cepeda,

I had my doubts too, but I was reserved. I looked you up , and you are legit. Don't listen to that
other guy, he's just another dude with nothing better to do.

I have an uncle that is also a amatuer radio operator, these things are not easy science, and
if you got your license, you must of studied electronics. I have the books for the tests, and it's
hard. I also called my uncle and told him what you posted, he said you are 100% correct and
that probably another reason some recievers glitch is because of the poor ground plane, hence
the antenna ground suppose to be the body of the helicopter..maybe this can help in some way.

Why did you leave Jersey?

EL Mecano
Old 08-29-2006, 09:16 AM
  #543  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Thanks for your support.

Concerning NJ, I landed a great job here and the life style is way much better, until the hurrincane.[X(]

Getting ready for it, so I will be out of touch for a while.

W37
Old 08-29-2006, 10:16 AM
  #544  
HP03 BlackHawk
Senior Member
 
HP03 BlackHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NLR, AR
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Whatever...[sm=75_75.gif] I thought this thread was about the DF37....Your license means nothing here go show it off in a HAM radio forum[sm=72_72.gif]
Old 08-29-2006, 05:07 PM
  #545  
armycopter
Senior Member
 
armycopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Biddeford, ME
Posts: 616
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Wow this bickering gets old


Anyway, I don't know if I solved the glitching problem or not, but I ended up moving my ESC to where Walkera puts the stock tail rotor servo (my tail rotor servo is now located on the tail boom). It now sits above the battery, about as far from the receiver as I can get it. I went out and flew it just now and had my first "glitch free" flight in quite some time. I'll need a few more flights to be sure but this was the first flight I've had without the slight (but annoying) power fluctuation. It flew great and I was getting some pretty good laps up and down my street.

Man I need a bigger place to fly this thing. I'm getting good enough that I'm doing some decent forward flight, but I've got cars, signs, and houses all around me. I am anxious to take it to a big field and try it out. I'm still not super comfy when the nose faces me, but I'm way better than I used to be. The problem is that the faster I fly it, the bigger crater it's going to leave when I finally do crash and burn[]
Old 08-29-2006, 07:19 PM
  #546  
GMoneyman
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: fords, NJ
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hows it going guys! I just purchased a #37 and i see u all have flown alittle, i have a problem with the speed control ligth not blinking , i push the button the lite comes on but no throttle. Anyone else have this ! thanx gmoney (greg)
Old 08-29-2006, 08:26 PM
  #547  
Heliwannabe
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hi KC2FTO i'm W8JD. Sounds like you did your homework on that antenna issue. Dont mess with sucess. I have not had any glitches so far with the stock setup but I live in a pretty rural area and dont have any power poles or such close by. I got my training gear today and am looking forward to trying them out. They look much better and are very light compared to my homemade jobbies.
Jim
Old 08-29-2006, 08:41 PM
  #548  
Heliwannabe
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

Hey blackhawk, havent seen a post for quite a while. Did you get your 37 repaired. As I remember you had a pretty bad crash with lots of broken parts. I hope I am not confusing you with somebody else.
Jim
Old 08-30-2006, 04:53 AM
  #549  
balance_mind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: --, SINGAPORE
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

W37 Cepeda,
when you converted the head to the SE head, are you able to have the full pitch and cyclics movements with no binding?
(Full negative with cyclics movement not touching frame : Full positive with cyclics and washout base barely touches rotor head, flybar control lever ball not touching the washout linkage)

Mine seems to be limited by these slightly with the best adjustment I can do. No EPA to adjust on the walkera radio, so think can only adjust the PIT settings to avoid.

Any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19855.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	515893  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:19 AM
  #550  
W37 Cepeda
Senior Member
 
W37 Cepeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: WALKERA 37

I had no issues with the bindings. As a matter of fact when I put the head together and install it I was over on the negative, without touching. I
adjusted the linkages accordingly and resolved the problem. For the linkages, I purchased the original Align parts, as you can see the pitch linkages are
shorter than the manfacturers originals by walkera. Maybe that is why yours maybe touching.

W37



ORIGINAL: balance_mind

W37 Cepeda,
when you converted the head to the SE head, are you able to have the full pitch and cyclics movements with no binding?
(Full negative with cyclics movement not touching frame : Full positive with cyclics and washout base barely touches rotor head, flybar control lever ball not touching the washout linkage)

Mine seems to be limited by these slightly with the best adjustment I can do. No EPA to adjust on the walkera radio, so think can only adjust the PIT settings to avoid.

Any suggestions?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.