Notices
Walkera Helis - Dragonfly, etc.. Discuss Walkera Dragonfly Helis and any Walkera products in this forum

4bladed walkera

Old 12-13-2006, 04:34 PM
  #1  
Cautrell05
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Winside, NE
Posts: 60
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4bladed walkera

A while back im sure I saw a 4 bladed walkera somewhere. Did that ever make it into production? and by 4 bladed I dont mean coaxial.
Nick
Old 12-15-2006, 07:41 PM
  #2  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Not to sure about that but i have been using the MS composites three bladed head for some time now with great results.(DF-60 with brushed motor and LiPo)
Old 12-18-2006, 04:26 PM
  #3  
rcboosted
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

pics?
Old 12-18-2006, 05:32 PM
  #4  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Nothing in the computer now but i can take some and drop them in when i get home.
Old 12-19-2006, 02:01 PM
  #5  
neweheliflyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , LA
Posts: 765
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

[link=http://www.hobbyjapan2000.com/store/proddetail.php?prod=DF-NO5-V4]I think this is the one you are looking for[/link]
Old 12-19-2006, 02:30 PM
  #6  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I thought that at first to, but his post said non coaxial. He want's info on a four bladed rotor head. I beleve.
Old 12-19-2006, 02:52 PM
  #7  
rcboosted
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

yea, I meant the 3 bladed ms composite df
Old 12-19-2006, 07:20 PM
  #8  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Let me get the camera from my wife and i'll get some picts taken of my set up for you. The shaft size is the same so the fit was easy, the rotor head uses diferent take off points for the control rods so you will need there CCPM swash plate for it. It is alum. so thats nice and its a good quality part, nice and tight. Made up some control rods from the servos to the swash plate and after radio set up your flying.It not only looks nice it fly nice too, a very balanced setup, so smooth.
Old 12-19-2006, 08:17 PM
  #9  
rcboosted
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

That'd be great! Did you get the parts from tower? Which walkera is this?
Old 12-19-2006, 09:21 PM
  #10  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I got everything from MS directly, i am assembleing the CH-46 right now and ordered the heads for that, but when checking it out i noticed the shaft and basic size was the same as on my DF-60 and thought HMMM.Well now i have another one on order for the CH-46 which will be done after X-Mas. I had the swash plate and the rest of the parts here so it only took 45 min to get it done.
Its on the DF-60 with brushless and LiPo/stock airframe
Old 12-25-2006, 09:41 PM
  #11  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I would LOVE to have a 3-blade setup on my 60! That would be so smooth and responsive. Can you, Cyclic, send me some info on where to order it and maybe a couple of pics to get me all excited on how easy it is to convert? Please Sir! LMAO! Thanks...Jerry
Old 12-25-2006, 11:47 PM
  #12  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I am haveing a time trying to get photos out of my camera. i am going to try to load the driver again and see if that does it. This thing is going to drive me crazy!!
Anyway the convertion is not to bad, it's just like puting on the aluminum head, the swash plate comes with the links on it and is 120 degree CCPM just like the DF-60. the only thing you will need to do is install the Hitec HS-56 servo with the carbonite gears,this is a flybarless head and ALL the aerodynamic forces go straght to the servos instead of being mixed to the flybar and then to the servo. The response and balance are amazing, it is a setup the needs the pilot to fly the head alot more than norm. but you get used to it.
I got everything from MS Composites except for the servos, and i am still waiting for the other head for my CH-46 that is almost done. Thay must have an x-mas rush and are behind in orders.
Old 12-26-2006, 12:55 AM
  #13  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Thanks for the feedback. Believe it or not I have a HS-56 w/carbonite gears! Traded for it a while back. The head is at MSComposites.com?
Old 12-26-2006, 12:58 AM
  #14  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

it says web under construction...
Old 12-26-2006, 01:19 AM
  #15  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I found it! You say all 3 servos must be replaced and all this just slides onto the walkera's main shaft and bolts on, just tweeking it in is all it takes? $74.95 isn't bad at all for that head! I gotta' have me one for mine! Is it the AS 350 B that the head comes from?
Old 12-26-2006, 04:56 AM
  #16  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Please let me know exactly what model or even the part number so I may order me one also...Thanks...Jerry
Old 12-26-2006, 09:35 AM
  #17  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

You are saying that the 3-blade setup for the CH-46 is the one that fits the Dragonfly 60? And it comes with everything I need to install on my DG 60? I'll hold off ordering that setup untill I get your comments in it. Thanks...Jerry
Old 12-26-2006, 10:49 AM
  #18  
Rattlecat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greenup, KY
Posts: 1,911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

The three blade head would be a great match for a scale Hughes 500, but I think the real one has 5 blades.

SB
Old 12-26-2006, 07:31 PM
  #19  
Cautrell05
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Winside, NE
Posts: 60
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

500c models were 4 blades. 500d, md and i think e models had 5.
Nick
Old 12-26-2006, 11:39 PM
  #20  
Rattlecat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greenup, KY
Posts: 1,911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

An odd number of blades cancels harmonics and will be smoother. On my CGS Hawk ultralight, the three blade prop was something everyone raved about. I had a three blade UltraProp. I had a two blade wood that resonated like crazy, it scared me but lots of people fly them. They avoid the resonant peaks. I said none of that and got the UltraProp.

SB
Old 12-27-2006, 04:22 PM
  #21  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

I feel like a dummy here but I don't seem to be getting any answers when I ask a question in E-Mail or PM's. Am I just not going to the right place to see the answers?
Old 12-30-2006, 02:29 AM
  #22  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

He must have missed them or did not get them before but we got it figured out and he now has all the part no. and the main shaft info he needed to get his projet going. All the parts are on order and he will have it done in a few weeks, and will post some pics. (i hope his camera works becuse mine dosent) when its done.
Old 01-10-2007, 07:51 AM
  #23  
JJeter1954
Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kilgore, TX
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Well, with a lot of advice from Cyclic and a little machine work, I finally managed to convert the DF 60 into a completely Walkera 3 blade Heli. Nothing smaller than the original Walkera main shaft and rotor head. Flight takes a little getting used to and a LOT more responsive to inputs. Kinda' windy here for much flight time but maybe this week-end it will be a bit calmer...JJ
Old 01-10-2007, 08:44 AM
  #24  
johnchu_hk
Member
 
johnchu_hk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hong Kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

all walkera 4 blade you have two in front and two in back
Old 01-12-2007, 03:05 PM
  #25  
cyclicoverload
 
cyclicoverload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 4bladed walkera

Dont leave stupid comments like that.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.