Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > Walkera Helis - Dragonfly, etc..
Reload this Page >

Walkera #60b - Tail Rotor Problem??? Not sure whats happening!!

Notices
Walkera Helis - Dragonfly, etc.. Discuss Walkera Dragonfly Helis and any Walkera products in this forum

Walkera #60b - Tail Rotor Problem??? Not sure whats happening!!

Old 02-12-2008, 05:59 AM
Virgin_Blue

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Walkera #60b - Tail Rotor Problem??? Not sure whats happening!!

Hi
I'm relatively new to the RC Electric Helo scene..
I have a Walkera #60b that has developed a problem with what I'm guessing is the tail rotor/gyro.

As soon as I lift off and hover, the whole body starts to spin to the right (counter-clockwise looking above). I believe the gyro (head-lock) is trying to compensate, but it is unable to control the body.

The seemed to start after a couple of medium landings with training gear.

I have checked the tail rotor, servo, gyro and also spun it up without the main blades to check the direction and functioning of the gyro. When it has spun up, the gyro does adjust the tail to correct the movement and the servo seems to have full span. Stuff I have read also indicates that with netural stick input that the tail rotor should be set in the centre.. To me, this does not seem correct, unless the gyro compensates for all the torque from the main rotor.

I have attempted to increase the head speed (as the tail rotor is belt driven from the main rotor) to try and give the tail rotor some more thrust, but this does not seem to help.

Other background info:

RC Gear: JR radio / receiver set.
ESC: Castlecreation Phoneix 45

I also believe that the gyro is the standard that comes with the Walkera #60 and does not have an extra RC input to adjust gain via the transmitter.

Hopefully someone can help as I'm not sure what is causing this problem. And that the problem is a simple one that I just cant see.

Thanks

VB
Old 02-12-2008, 06:15 PM
guru101