Notices
WildHare R/C Support Disscuss WildHare RC products in this forum. Please note, answers may be provided by Tom Fawcett (owner of WildHare RC) or by the general membership.

baby extra 260 engine mounting

Old 09-17-2008, 09:24 PM
  #1  
goosefrank
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default baby extra 260 engine mounting

I am trying to mount a TT Pro 1.20 to a baby extra using a dubro motor mount. I am mounting it upside down and seem to be about an inch short of clearing the cowl with my spinner plate. Could anyone give me a suggestion as to how I should go about shimming the motor mount?
Old 09-17-2008, 10:13 PM
  #2  
goosefrank
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

i did some really special measuring i only need to shim it 1/4", should i use 1/4" ply?
Old 09-17-2008, 10:36 PM
  #3  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

Do that, or get a Great Planes 1.20 size adjustable mount, it's plenty long.

TF
Old 09-18-2008, 12:41 AM
  #4  
MetallicaJunkie
 
MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Donna, TX
Posts: 5,463
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

what tom said, and they work great on the baby edge too(gp 120 mount)
Old 09-18-2008, 05:12 PM
  #5  
Gungadin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madison, OH
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

You might want to consider mounting that engine on it's side instead of inverted.
Old 09-22-2008, 07:19 PM
  #6  
goosefrank
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

why's that? would it be a bad idea to just bolt through the great planes engine mount instead of tapping it?
Old 09-22-2008, 08:43 PM
  #7  
Gungadin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madison, OH
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: baby extra 260 engine mounting

Bolting thru works fine. Use #6 bolts and elastic stop nuts.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.