Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Norvel AME .049 (.8cc) engine question(s)...

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Norvel AME .049 (.8cc) engine question(s)...

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2016, 06:04 PM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

Originally Posted by aspeed
Norvel diesels have been tried. Andrew has done a lot of them. I think they are the Big Migs though. www.youtube.com/watch?v=57WTJUxV0DM
There was a lot of info from him in the Norvel FAQ thread. All Big Migs.
Old 02-03-2016, 06:21 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by 1QwkSport2.5r
I'm new to diesels, but have ran many bigger conversion engines - smallest being a .20 Sportster K&B and biggest being an ST .51. I have the tuning down pretty good and have had good results with mixing my own fuel. I was just curious if one of the little guys like the AME would diesel well. In reality, it was just an idea. I know the AME engines are ported more for rpm, so I had my doubts it would diesel as well.

Thanks for the information and story. I find engines in general fascinating and enjoy collecting them as well.
With .049 diesels I think the idea is to use more ether in your recipe than you would for a larger engine. The idea is that extra ether [at least for starting] ensures that the fuel will have enough compressible vapor in the mix so that you won't have to compensate by shrinking the combustion chamber dangerously small.
I've never read or heard about what too much ether does. I imagine it hurts the timing and the duration of the downward push on the piston.
The largest I've run is the PAW .15. They have a heavy piston and the engine doesn't need to rev very high to cause more vibration than a glow .15 would. This might be some kind of an advantage with larger glow conversions...?
Old 02-03-2016, 06:28 PM
1QwkSport2.5r