Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Need some help

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2009, 10:40 PM
CAD_Flyer_321

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help

Hi all. This is my first time posting to this site as a memmber. I have been reading many posts as a guest, but figured it was time to join and post whenever i can. I have been flying 1/2a CL for almost a year now, mainly a Sig Skyray that has been crash, repaired and modified many times. I want to get into some built up wing designs and something with a bit more manuverability and response. I have been trying lately to CAD up my own design but dont really know where to go as far as overall wing size and other dimensions. Any 1/2a plans or ideas anyone has would be greatly appreciated. Or if anyone has some plans they want CAD'ed up let me know, i'll give it a shot.

Thanks
Old 06-11-2009, 01:11 AM
vauxhall

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Need some help

Here's a couple of links for you to check out, if your looking for design ideas.
http://www.the.elmores.btinternet.co.uk/telmore.html
http://my.pclink.com/~dfritzke/
If you email Dave Fritzke, he may perhaps have some more C/L plans available.
RCU have a C/L Forum too, try posting there for some plans.
An ideal C/L learner package, once you're past the crash and burn stage, is the SIG Akromaster kit with a .15 engine, cheap too. You will find that the larger models are smoother to fly and with the Akromaster you're building a model guaranteed to fly very well indeed.
There are many free C/L plans on the net, you've just got to find 'em.......John
Old 06-11-2009, 01:40 AM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Dick Mathis and Dick Sarpolus both authored great beginner's guides to control line. Both books had plans included, too. The book by Sarpolus had more to do with 1/2A.
Might be worth a search.