Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

New Pilot needs some help

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

New Pilot needs some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 11:11 AM
cencalmatt
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Pilot needs some help

Hello
I am fairly new to flying. I recently bought an Avistar .46 nitrotrainer and have about 20 flights on it now. Between that and my many hours spent on Phoenix RC sim, I feel I have mastered my trainer, flying it inverted in circles out at the field I fly at with buddies. They all call me a liar and say I've been flying for years lol...
Anyhow, I fell in love with the idea of 3d flight and I am currently practicing rolling harriers on the sim. I purchased a Chargerrc.com Fuzion 3D.
I just love the way it looks and what little infoI could find on it was great.
Here's my issue, All of this brushlessmotor stuff just confuses the crap out of me, the kv ratings specifically. I need a couple tips, or points in the right direction. I would like to buy from a U.S. based business, for a couple of reasons. I have been looking at valuehobby.com and they pretty much have most of what I need but they are always sold out of speed controllers.
I'd like a one stop shop for cheap components for foamies.
Hobbyking is a mess in my opinion, just a cluster of thousands of items, most of which are sold out! So does anybody else have any good sites they go to? and does anyone have any good recommendations on a particular setup? It is a 36" wingspan.
Just need a little guidence setting it up.
Thanks
cencalmatt
Old 10-19-2010, 03:38 PM
rmenke
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: New Pilot needs some help

Yo