Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Goldwing 60" sbach help

Old 08-04-2015, 11:00 AM
  #1  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Goldwing 60" sbach help

Hi I have the above plane and decided to go glow, put an evolution 46 and all hitec 311 exept a 645 on rudder. Turns out it takes 18 ounces in the nose to balance. What happened? Should I have used the recommended mini servos in tail? I already cut out for bigger Servos, was optional and had a template for putting standard servos in it. Was thinking of upgrading the 311s down the road until I realize how heavy tail is already.

What do I do now? I have a 15cc gasser I would love to put in it but I dont feel that throwing more weight at it is best thing to do. Please help
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 08-05-2015, 10:13 AM
  #2  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anyone have any ideas?
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 07:21 AM
  #3  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don't think the gasser is a good plan either.

It sounds like you need to go with the smaller servos. Shouldn't be that bad to come up with some scrap to make the servo cutout work with the smaller servos. Just shim one end of each hole. Doubt many people will even notice.
ahicks is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 07:19 PM
  #4  
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is a little late but smaller servos in the tail will help. I have this but using an electric setup. Scrap plywood is great for the servo mounts you need to add.
albsurfer is offline  
Old 09-21-2015, 07:30 AM
  #5  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not too late I still need help as the plane is setting worthlessly in the corner. I had a glow engine, then a gas which worked and balanced but made the plane too heavy, and now bought a 46 size electric motor but I'm afraid will be too weak.

I figure if I use 2 hitec 225s in the tail I can loose an oz in the tail, therefore probably loose 5oz or more in the nose, before this plane was way too heavy for floaty post stall aerobatics, it just falls like a rock when you ease off the throttle.

The guys at the field seem to think its not a good 3D plane, and they all have 100cc extras. But I have seen this thing on YouTube doing rolling harries and all that, plus a smaller plane should be more squirrelly correct? When i bought it I saw nothing but good reviews and people claimed it was a good first 3D plane, but I'm starting to wonder. I really wanna get this thing going.

Also do you guys think a 46e motor is enough? With a 5s and 15x8 it will push over 8lbs of thrust but is it bad to use the biggest prop recommended to get the thrust I need? Am I loosing all the speed? A lot of 3d planes have these low 4" pitch props for hanging on the prop, someone please point me in the right direction.
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-21-2015, 10:52 AM
  #6  
TimBle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

fit the smaller servos
TimBle is offline  
Old 09-21-2015, 12:25 PM
  #7  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Will do, is the e motor ok?
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 07:19 AM
  #8  
Bcolici
 
Bcolici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Islip N.Y.
Posts: 620
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I had the same issue with my SBach from another manufacturer. Except my holes were cut out for standard size servos. I used the lightest mid size servos that i could find that met the requirements for the job.

What is the all up weight?? How many watts is your set up pulling? Your esc and batteries need to be able to handle the amps as well as not to exceed the motors ratings.
This will help determine how your e motor is going to pull it around. Depending on its rated power output.
A 7 pitch prop can 3D well, the vox prop is one for e application,again depends on your power system and the weight of the plane.

Last edited by Bcolici; 09-23-2015 at 07:30 AM.
Bcolici is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 08:50 PM
  #9  
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm using an EMAX motor, Castle 75A ESC, 5s 4000mah 30c, HS-225s, 15x7 or 15x8 Vox and Xoar props. My SBACH weighs 5.26 lbs AUW.
Flies great but when you harrier it likes to wing rock a lot when it slows way down, so you have to be constantly on the throttle and controls. I fly it inverted, about 500 feet in a knife edge, and it does more than I am capable of.
I just changed my exponential from 30% to 60% at the advice of a fellow 3d flyer. He says it will be easier to control. Haven't check it yet. My TX is in for repair.
albsurfer is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 03:35 AM
  #10  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That sounds about right I think between 5-5.5 lbs is what it calls for. Here's my motor

http://www.headsuphobby.com/Emax-BL4...otor-B-120.htm

See with the 15x8 on a 5s it gives you way more thrust but brings the watts down from 1150 to 870. I don't understand watts. Is it ok to use the bigger prop for more thrust? Or should I go 6s 13x6.5 for more watts? Looks like the previous poster had about the same setup as me
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 07:35 AM
  #11  
Bcolici
 
Bcolici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Islip N.Y.
Posts: 620
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How about a happy medium like i sugguested. 14x7.
Your gonna have to fly them and see which you like best.
Good luck and happy flyin!
Bcolici is offline  
Old 09-27-2015, 06:23 PM
  #12  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So I ordered 255s and while I was waiting I started playing with the Sbach, it still takes 2 lbs up front with the electric setup. I then take the tail servos out completly, it still takes 2 lbs in the nose. I weighed the plane as it sits without any lead and unbalanced and got 6.3 lbs, recommended is 5-5.5. This is with recommended 8oz brushless and a Small 3000mah lipo. It's like it's a defect or something. No matter what I do it's still tail heavy. There is no way around putting an extra 2lbs in the nose.
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-28-2015, 12:06 PM
  #13  
Bcolici
 
Bcolici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Islip N.Y.
Posts: 620
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What are you using to check cg??
Something You're doing is not right,i cant see that removing the 2 tail servos and nothing changed in regards to weight needed up front.
Bcolici is offline  
Old 09-28-2015, 03:17 PM
  #14  
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah. 2 lbs is a lot of weight to add to that plane. My EMax GT 4020/07 weighs 8.8 oz, and I use an ICE 75A ESC @ 2.3 oz, and 5s4000 mah lipo pack weighing 18.5 oz. I put my lipo just forward of the battery box rear and it balances well at 4 - 3/4". I balance my aerobatic planes so the nose is slightly down on the balancer, not a steep nose down.
albsurfer is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 04:31 AM
  #15  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It mite have changed to a pound and a half from 2, still way tail heavy. I'm using my fingers since it would just fall off the balance board. Are you guys balancing it on the spar? I also have an emax 4020/08 does it pull the plane well? I'm thinking about cutting the elevator out and installing the joiner but i threw it away, anyone have one they didn't use?
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 09:05 PM
  #16  
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Your EMax should work just fine. Prop with a large diameter prop if you're going 5 cell. I'd use the 14x8.5 or a wood 15x7 for 3d and slower flying. On 6 cell the 13x6.5 or 12x8 for 3d and slower flying.
I didn't use the joiner. the leading edges weren't the right ones so I had to cut them off and install new stock so I went ahead and used a wire joiner and drilled the holes in the elevator, then just twisted the joiner until the ele halves were even and epoxied afterwards.

I still don't know how you are so tail heavy. If you aren't installing a spinner, buy one, it will help the forward weight a bit. I have my ESC on the front of the fuse opening into the cowl below the battery box. My 5s4000 mah lipo pack is pretty forward to balance but isn't touching the front box wall. Remember that spinner, prop, and cowl all have to be installed for balancing.
albsurfer is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 06:51 AM
  #17  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Prop and cowl are on, tho I don't have a spinner. Idk why I'm the only one this has happened to that's what makes me think it's a defective. I have 2 5s 3000mah lipos I got from a guy in the club for next to nothing, but I bet I'm going to have to go with a 5000 for the weight. I may loose the tailwheel also and the servo gear to help.
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 09-30-2015, 08:01 PM
  #18  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How much overall weight is u guys sbach? I figure if I use a 5000mah lipo I can get it to balance with one servo and a few oz in the nose. Overall weight would be around 6.8 lbs is that too heavy for this plane or the emax?
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 09:00 PM
  #19  
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

with 5s5000 lipos use the larger dia prop or she'll be fighting for lift and speed in hovers and harriers. The plane will handle heavy with a 5s5000 pack also. My 5s4000 fly better tho I get about 5 min of fairly hard 3d with them.
don't go to a gas engine on this. You'd have to do some serious reinforcement with extra wood and it would weigh way too much.
albsurfer is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 04:42 AM
  #20  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It's either going to have to be dead weight
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 04:47 AM
  #21  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think at this point its either going to have to be dead weight or weight I can put to use. That's why I think the plane is trash. It's overweight without a battery at all

One last question and I will leave it alone, did y'all balance yours on the spar or a little behind? Also what did your final weight come out to?
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 04:27 PM
  #22  
107ch
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Milladore, WI
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I put together a 60" Sukhoi, I used hitec 5485Hb servos and put a Magnum 91fs on it . Great performance.

Dennis
107ch is offline  
Old 10-04-2015, 07:42 AM
  #23  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Did you balance it on the spar? I can't figure out how to take pics but I cut open the whole tail and have been hacking plywood and 1/2" balsa out of the tail, also removed turtle deck sheeting, and I the Tailwheel with block. Don't know how much weight I'm really loosing. I may build profile tail feathers and extend the nose
imblaze88 is offline  
Old 10-04-2015, 03:22 PM
  #24  
107ch
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Milladore, WI
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, I usually start with the spar. I like a plane to be a bit nose heavy for the first few flights. I only have a couple on this one. Hope to get out this week yet. I don't really get in to tearing them up for a few ounces. I am more of an IMAC type of flyer. My 3D stuff is pretty poor...but I'm learning.
107ch is offline  
Old 10-05-2015, 06:10 AM
  #25  
imblaze88
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've always used the spar but I went back and checked the manual, it says 106mm which puts it right in the center of the wing tube which is actually a little behind the spar. But since the wing is tapered it depends where you measure from, I'm measuring right against the fuse. I hope it will be ok there last thing I want to do is fly tail heavy.
imblaze88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.