Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

FPV Flying

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2008, 07:08 AM
simmo8

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FPV Flying

G-Day everyone
i have been flying for about 4 years and i want to get into FPV flying is there anyone who does it and how expencive is it to get into i have got a plane for all of the gear,, it is an aero cruiser from black horse it has got a bit of power and a nice big clear canopy for a camera.i am using a spectrum DX7 TX and an AR7000 RX.
thanks for any advice
simmo
Old 07-29-2008, 09:12 AM
mbyers1971

Default RE: FPV Flying

I am using a dx7 and have lost 2 planes using a 2.4ghz cam everyone has suggested to me to use 900 mhz so be careful on your choice. I know the fpv from hobby-lobby will not work with these radios and don't really know where to get a 900mhz fpv. I guess i am not much help but my little bit of advice is to stay away from 2.4ghz with the dx7.
Old 07-29-2008, 01:17 PM
tychoc

There's alot more information/activity regarding FPV on RCGroups. Check out: [link=http://www.rcgroups.com/video-piloting-fpv-rpv-469/]http://www.rcgroups.com/video-piloting-fpv-rpv-469/[/link]

RangeVideo.com has a 900Mhz system, however, it's on hold right now until an issue with FCC is cleared up.

-tychoc
Old 07-29-2008, 06:44 PM
simmo8

ok i will have a look on rc groups
does anyone have an idea of what it costs to set up a cheap system
i will look at using a 900mhz camera just incase
thanks guys

simmo
Old 07-29-2008, 09:49 PM
tychoc

I'm trying to set up a system piece by piece right now. So far I have (approx.):

1. 900Mhz Tx/Rx on order from Rangevideo for $130
2. Scandisk DVR for recording $50
3. Cheap 5in LCD display from ebay for $25
4. I'm going to use the video feed from my Canon AP camera
5. I already have an elogger from Eagle tree, and have on order the new eagle tree osd for $45.