Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

400 feet? In heaven's name how???

Community
Search
Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

400 feet? In heaven's name how???

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 08:10 AM
MajorTomski

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 400 feet? In heaven's name how???

Other than standing on a tower that puts your eyes at 400 feet AGL how can anyone prove, or disprove for that matter, [sm=confused.gif]that a model is flying moderatly lower or higher than 400 feet above the ground?

For those of you about to point to eagltree systems, it's not calibrated so again its accuracy is questionable.
Old 07-12-2006, 08:26 AM
Dr1Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 400 feet? In heaven's name how???

In a situation with a complaint from a full size plane pilot and the acused being an R/C pilot, I'll bet the full scale pilot will win. Documentation not necessary. Remember, it is the responsibility of model airplanes to not interfere with full size planes.

Dr.1
Old 07-12-2006, 08:49 AM
SSRCCPREZ

I tie a string to mine....does that make it a control line?

I just fly low when I see a full size plane....of course where we are sometimes the full sizers are below 400 ft.!!!!

Hmmm...a lil game of chicken never hurt anyone right?
Old 07-12-2006, 08:56 AM
KidEpoxy

Without a complaint, but just to everyday fly within the AMA & AC91-57 400', just how do we know when we are at 350 or 400... or at 425 breaking the law? I think that was the point of the OP.

I use the Speck method. When the plane is so high that it gets harder to see the colorscheme, that is too high.

Regardles of being at 375' or 60', a model should give a wide avoidance to GA aircraft. The easiest is usually just getting down to 50-75' where GA guys dont go. While it may seem the GA planes complain beyond a reasonable clearance, remember, we may lose a model, they may lose their life.