Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

RC Guys 33% Pitts S1 ARF

Old 03-06-2016, 08:29 PM
  #251  
PacificNWSkyPilot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
PacificNWSkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 3,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah, Pitts are different, but they're worth all the tweaking, and incredible flyers when that's done.

I'm gonna miss this hobby, no doubt in my mind. But I'll keep monitoring RCU and putting in my two cents worth, and in general being annoying wherever possible.

~ Jim ~
PacificNWSkyPilot is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 05:43 AM
  #252  
pacoflyer
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: east amherst , NY
Posts: 588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jim,
Sorry to hear that your leaving the hobby. I always found your aerodynamic explanations to be top notch and easy to understand for us dummies. [might be a good theme for your new book "aerodynamics for dummies]
Maybe you should just take some time off from the hobby, focus on other stuff and maybe then come back to it.
Anyway, hope all is well with you and your family and that you are all settled in in your new home….
paul
pacoflyer is offline  
Old 03-07-2016, 07:49 AM
  #253  
PacificNWSkyPilot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
PacificNWSkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 3,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks, Paul.

I'll still come in here and put my two cents worth in from time to time. But I'm moving on as far as the hands-on part of the hobby. Too many other hobbies demanding my time and my money. The truth is, what I spend on my planes would pay for all my other hobbies combined. That's pretty remarkable when you look at how expensive guns can be. But then, you don't usually take a two-thousand dollar gun out and crash it into the earth at 90 miles per hour.... The gun can last you your whole life, protected in a safe when you're not using it. Plus, I've already collected and customized the ones I want, so my reloading supplies (for my OTHER hobby - reloading!) end up being my typical hobby expense.

My "Other" hobby (another Other!) is also related, and that's fishing. You could buy my little boat outright for the cost of two planes. Anyway, you get the idea; what little fishing gear and reloading supplies I normally use won't amount to a fraction of what I spend on planes.

I promised my wife that I'd cut down on my most expensive hobbies, and we moved here to Washington so I could get out there and hunt and fish and hike and boat, so as much as I might have been avoiding it up until now, it's only logical that my RC planes are what's on the chopping block.

But it doesn't cost anything to drop into RCU and spend a little time, so I'll try and visit now and again.

~ Jim ~
PacificNWSkyPilot is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 09:00 PM
  #254  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So, curious. Anyone else gotten into the air with the VVRC 40 twin in this plane? What kind of AUW are you getting? I have the VVRC in a 16 pound 92-inch Decathlon and it flies really nicely. Have to fly the plane rather than let an over-sized engine drag it around the sky.

But I am strongly considering this plane and would appreciate any feedback anyone can share. I know this is a bit of a zombie thread, but I thought I'd try.
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 12:28 PM
  #255  
BDKelly
Junior Member
 
BDKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi folks,

I may have asked this before, but has anyone tried the Saito 57cc gas twin or its 300 twin nitro cousin in the RC Guys Pitts? I don't think it's too powerful, being 4-stroke and a twin, but it's pretty heavy at 73 oz. I have checked, and the cowl is large enough, even for this engine.

For other engines, can anyone give me an idea how much nose weight they have had to add (or not)?

Thanks much!
BDKelly is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 01:22 PM
  #256  
PacificNWSkyPilot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
PacificNWSkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 3,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That's a bit heavy for it. The Valley View 40CC Twin with mufflers weighs around 50 ounces, I think, and that was about perfect for balance in mine. The Valley View ad says it weighs 44 ounces, but as I recall, I found it was heavier than that, so I'm estimating 50 ounces max (But, as I said, it was PERFECT for balance in my RC Guys Pitts). 73 ounces is a full 23 ounces more than that, and I think the plane could manage it, but I think that much weight would make the plane fly too heavy, and that's not even including the tail weight you'd likely have to add.
I hope this is of some help to you.

~ Jim ~
PacificNWSkyPilot is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 06:58 PM
  #257  
Jim Branaum
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fair Oaks Ranch, TX
Posts: 2,616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by PacificNWSkyPilot View Post
That's a bit heavy for it. The Valley View 40CC Twin with mufflers weighs around 50 ounces, I think, and that was about perfect for balance in mine. The Valley View ad says it weighs 44 ounces, but as I recall, I found it was heavier than that, so I'm estimating 50 ounces max (But, as I said, it was PERFECT for balance in my RC Guys Pitts). 73 ounces is a full 23 ounces more than that, and I think the plane could manage it, but I think that much weight would make the plane fly too heavy, and that's not even including the tail weight you'd likely have to add.
I hope this is of some help to you.

~ Jim ~
ADD WEIGHT? What happened to moving the servos or battery pack?
Jim Branaum is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 10:08 PM
  #258  
PacificNWSkyPilot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
PacificNWSkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 3,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That's the spirit, Jim! And a shout-out to San Antonio!

I'm pretty sure that, with at least 23 ounces or more difference, there would have to be significant weight added to the tail even AFTER moving all of those. I probably should have made that more clear in my post. I think most of us would shift whatever we could first to see whether it would mitigate the problem. I've put battery packs far back in the tail before to avoid adding lead to a model.

~ Jim ~
PacificNWSkyPilot is offline  
Old 08-24-2016, 12:51 PM
  #259  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi, Not sure if this thread is active much any more but I have a couple of questions onthe RC Guy’s Pitts…
Did you keepthe elevators connected with the wire and use one servo -- or –did you opt for separate servos with thetwo servos mounted in the rear under the Horizontal Stab ?
Did any ofyou “beef – up “ the area where the Landing Gear mounts?? I think I want to at least add a ply doublerinside ??
Thanks inadvance !
Tom
apipertoo is offline  
Old 08-24-2016, 06:56 PM
  #260  
RonMcCormick
My Feedback: (4)
 
RonMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My flying buddy used a 35 engine and connected the elevators, I used a 55 engine and split mine. BTW his plane flies great.
RonMcCormick is offline  
Old 08-25-2016, 03:47 AM
  #261  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Ron I am planning on a DLE 55 in mine... If HIS plane flew good.... WHAT ABOUT YOURS??

Last edited by apipertoo; 08-25-2016 at 10:36 AM. Reason: ypo
apipertoo is offline  
Old 08-27-2016, 07:18 AM
  #262  
RonMcCormick
My Feedback: (4)
 
RonMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

mine has not been been flown yet 90% complete and lost interest after many modification including recovering. If you are going to use a 50cc size engine I would say split the elevators.
RonMcCormick is offline  
Old 08-28-2016, 06:36 PM
  #263  
or170b
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lakeview, OR
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

well I have flown mine lots. I have a very heavy fpe 3.4 57cc gas motor split elevator servos and most heavy equipment in the rear. this is a great flier with heavy engines as its a biplane with lots of lift! I cant say enough good about this plane. It flys so nice! Its so easy to land come in high chop the throttle and come in steep. it slows down fast!!
or170b is offline  
Old 08-29-2016, 02:57 AM
  #264  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

thanks !
apipertoo is offline  
Old 09-03-2016, 08:10 AM
  #265  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So I am using a DLE55 so I will be splitting the elevatorsand using 2 servos mounted in the rear under the Stab. I was wondering IF anyone who has done this might have pictures and or dimensions as to where you located the ElevatorServos?? Thanks in Advance !
Tom

Last edited by apipertoo; 09-03-2016 at 09:53 AM.
apipertoo is offline  
Old 09-09-2016, 07:01 AM
  #266  
or170b
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lakeview, OR
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

mine re located just ahead of the horizontal stabilizer. You will need to strengthen the area with some lite ply.
or170b is offline  
Old 12-06-2016, 05:41 AM
  #267  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How BIG of hole did everyone drill in the center of the firewall for fuel tubes etc ??

Thanks !

Tom
apipertoo is offline  
Old 12-08-2016, 07:43 AM
  #268  
or170b
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lakeview, OR
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Tom, I did a 3/4 hole but my engine is a side carb. a lot will depend on the engine you are using.
or170b is offline  
Old 12-08-2016, 10:54 AM
  #269  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks !! I am using a DLE 55.. Soo I am thinking I will just do holes big enough for Fuel Line and Pushrods..
apipertoo is offline  
Old 12-10-2016, 04:35 PM
  #270  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

​MOUNTING THE COWL ? Did any one cut into the cowl to clear the Cabines on top and or the Landing gear on the bottom ?? I have a DLE 55ra mounted on the plane, If I put the cowl on all the way up to the Gear and the Cabines.. It looks like I still lack about 3/16 for clearance... Do I cut the cowl or put a spacer behind the mounts ???
apipertoo is offline  
Old 12-11-2016, 05:39 AM
  #271  
or170b
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lakeview, OR
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

have you tried to do a cg balance yet? You mite need to extend the engine far forward as you can to help with balance. Mine is extended forward I used 3/4 hard wood dowel for my extensions.
or170b is offline  
Old 12-11-2016, 06:40 AM
  #272  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No I haven't done a CG Check yet... But I will... I only need 3/16 for clearance.. Thanks for your reply
apipertoo is offline  
Old 12-12-2016, 04:03 PM
  #273  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks Like I will be quite Nose heavy !! have to do some strategy when I mount my Radio and ignition batteries..
apipertoo is offline  
Old 12-16-2016, 04:38 PM
  #274  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

or170b, Hi this forum is pretty 'dead" I think But I have a lot more questions.. I tried to send you a private message but I don't know if it went ?? could you shoot me a message with your Email so I could just send you and email with my Questions??

Thanks !

Tom
apipertoo is offline  
Old 03-07-2017, 08:41 PM
  #275  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just starting to build one of these....ordered direct from Dan at RCGUYS, got the Red/White/Blue one.

Will be using a DLE-55RA.....what size standoffs did ya'll use?

Looking at Elevator servos in the tail......kinda wanted to mount the Rudder servo in the back as well.. Maybe? Maybe not.
CaptRKO is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.