Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Panel Lines on ARF, How?

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Panel Lines on ARF, How?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2006, 11:00 AM
mickey-gem

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Panel Lines on ARF, How?

Hello, I want to draw panel lines and other detail markings on my H9 P-51 Mustang .60.
I have never done this before. I purchased a Top Flight Panel line marker and the Top Flight
rivet and panel line template.

I guess my main question is if I need to clear coat the plane after I finish all the markings?
There are no detailed intructions with the marker or suggestions.

By the way this Mustang is Electric, so I do not have to worry about the effects of fuel.

Kind Regards,

Jesse
Old 01-19-2006, 04:23 PM
khodges
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Panel Lines on ARF, How?

If the covering is plastic (MonoKote or similar), you'll need to clearcoat the panel lines, or they'll smear and rub off from handling. You can use Top Flite LustreCote, but just mist the first couple of coats. If you apply it too heavily, the panel lines will run. If you use Flat clear, it will dull the gloss of the cover, which IMO looks better on a warbird, or you can use the gloss clearcoat .
Old 01-19-2006, 04:55 PM
mickey-gem

Thank you very much for the information and suggestions, I greatly appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Jesse
Old 01-20-2006, 05:35 PM
Meschmidt
My Feedback: (15)

Here is a panel lined and weathered ARF done by Sharpie markers and pencil. Covering is the original Ultracote. Lot of time involved but worth it! More pictures in my gallery. Paul
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51791.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	391675  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:19 PM
vasek
My Feedback: (4)

Very nice Paul! What di U use to spray it to fuel-proof it?
Old 01-22-2006, 05:50 AM
Stickbuilder