Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Dual battery hook up ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2002, 05:48 PM
Texas 3D
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual battery hook up ?

What is the best way to hook up 2 battery packs in my plane. I have 2 charge switches, and the batteries are 1600 NimH.
Should I just plug them both in the receiver (using for one an empty channel ), or should I use a Battery backer ? If I use an empty channel, do I have to disable that channel on the radio (I am using a JR 8103) ? I am new to dual packs, so I would like to make things right.
Old 07-26-2002, 06:36 PM
thomasb

Just visit Red's site. He offers very practical info on dual-pack use.
Old 07-26-2002, 08:23 PM
Geistware

As thomasb says, visit red's site.
Basically you want to hook both pack up through the switches and into open slots in your receiver. If you don't have any available slots then use a "Y" cable to get the power where needed
Old 07-28-2002, 03:21 PM
Texas 3D

Default red's site

what is red's website ?
Thanks for the info.
Old 07-28-2002, 04:00 PM
thomasb

Red S. is this Forum's moderator. His site's link is shown in a sticky post near the top of the Batteries & Chargers Forum post list.
Old 07-28-2002, 04:06 PM
Geistware

C. L. "Red" Scholefield is "THE" battery expert in my opinion. There are many knowledgable people, but to me, he is the expert.

http://www.rcbatteryclinic.com/
Old 08-20-2002, 05:59 AM
pietermx

Use this to connect 2 batteries. If 1 fails (e.g. dead cell) the voltage will remain stable (the good battery won't try to charge the bad one)... Make sure you use a schottky diode to prevent a voltage drop (user of normal diodes will make the voltage drop by about 0,7V. Using a dobbel schottky diode this will only be 0,3V).
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	22214_4998.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	12013  
Old 08-20-2002, 08:38 AM