Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

new to airplanes but not helicopters

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

new to airplanes but not helicopters

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2011, 07:29 PM
stalefishsk8er

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to airplanes but not helicopters

hello people, i am new to flying airplanes and i have flown helicopters in the past but looking to get into flying airplanes, i've been thinking of building a nitro powered aircraft with the servos and traxxas trx 2.5 engine from my traxxas 2.5 t-maxx. i've been looking at the piper j3 cub ultramicro scaled aircraft from horizon hobby but been looking at some other airplanes as well.
Old 12-11-2011, 05:04 AM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: new to airplanes but not helicopters

I'm not sure, but I don't think you can use a car engine on an airplane. The drive mechanism is different.

CGr.
Old 12-11-2011, 06:23 AM
JohnBuckner

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

In addition to what CG pointed out. Is your car/truck/buggy/boat transmitter a pistol grip type? If so then that is not going to work out at all for airplane use.

Find a local airplane club, get involved or network with local airplane flyers and find a mentor. Don,t spend any money untill you get suggestions from the folks who are going to be helping you.

John
Old 12-11-2011, 08:54 AM
acdii

Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts

Ground motors in a plane will run too cold, and not run very well. I had tried to run a Heli motor in a  plane and had to shround the head to get it to run right.  They load up if they dont reach the right temp.
Old 12-11-2011, 08:58 AM
kenh3497

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ORIGINAL: JohnBuckner

In addition to what CG pointed out. Is your car/truck/buggy/boat transmitter a pistol grip type? If so then that is not going to work out at all for airplane use.