Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner build questions

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner build questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 01:02 AM
Brian Dixon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner build questions

I am new to RC. I am building a Balsa USA Stick 40 Plus trainer and have a few questions.
1. I know balsa is strong for its weight, but would the fixed parts of the rudder and elevator benefit from triangulation provided by the addition of wires between them as I see on many real planes?
2. The main wing is meant to be held on with rubber bands. In theory, this allows for the wing and fuselage to separate in a crash and minimize damage. Is this really likely to work? Does the wing ever shift during flight? Would it not be better off bolted on?
3. I’ve certainly heard of planes being flown into trees, but how often are planes completely lost? Would it be a good investment to buy one of those new GPS locators?
Old 01-29-2013, 02:26 AM
sticktickler

Default RE: Beginner build questions

1. I'm thinking you're referring to a wire tail brace system. Many models do incorporate them into the design mostly on larger faster aerobatic planes and biplanes. If your plans or instructions don't call for them (few trainers do), a good rule of thumb is....if it isn’t broke don't fix it. Also keeping your model lighter by minimizing additional unnecessary tail weight is the highest priority.