Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Seagull Edge 540 Problem Flying

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Seagull Edge 540 Problem Flying

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2014, 09:07 AM
mrcoolpop

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seagull Edge 540 Problem Flying

I have the Seagull 540 with the 66.9 in wing span. I had been flying it about 2 months ago and it was fine. Went to the field today and had major problems. I have the O.S 120 FS 4 stroke engine and my RPM get up to 9700. I have a Master Airscrew K-Series 14x6 propeller. My CG is 6.5mm from the leading edge it balance good. Now the problem I'm have is when I take of it flies like its under power real slow and sort of tail heavy. Can only make one lap and have to land it. Please!!! any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1831.JPG
Views:	80
Size:	3.91 MB
ID:	2040608  
Old 10-16-2014, 09:30 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

Try an APC 16X6
Old 10-16-2014, 04:36 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I used either a 15X8 or a 16X6 APC with my OS 120s. I did a lot of prop testing though with each new plane to see what worked best for me. The MAS props didn't work so well and a 14 is a bit small. Also as our temps start to go down the engine may also need to be fine tuned too.
Old 10-16-2014, 07:58 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Have the same engine on a Stearman and even aero tow two meter gliders with it and just checked and an APC 15x6 has done a creditable job, in fact its the original prop since I started flying it few years.back. a 14x6 sure sounds under propped to me.