Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

80" Spitfire setup advice.....

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

80" Spitfire setup advice.....

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2015, 07:00 PM
Georgiadude2012

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 80" Spitfire setup advice.....

This is my first build after trainer.... Are these components ie servos and tx/rx going to be ok for this wa bird... I am going to get the dla 35ra engine..Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Spitfire.jpg
Views:	327
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	2099961   Click image for larger version

Name:	spitire 2.jpg
Views:	347
Size:	1.26 MB
ID:	2099962  

Last edited by Georgiadude2012; 06-01-2015 at 07:12 PM.
Old 06-02-2015, 02:04 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

Radio should be fine IF you don't try to use more channels than the radio can handle
Retract servos should be okay
The Hitec 645MGs have plenty of power for that plane, depending on where you are using them
The S3004s have me concerned, depending how and where you are going to use them
Old 06-02-2015, 06:06 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

I'd worry more about a guy who just soloed on his trainer going straight to a Spitfire. Are you improving your flying skills with a standard sport plane before moving on to an unforgiving warbird?
Old 06-02-2015, 07:40 AM
52larry52
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Yea, I thought it was odd to have a question about the set up on an 80' Spitfire in the BEGINNERS forum. The other piece of equipment he may need is large black trash bag. We'll see....... Georgiadude2012, let us know how this works out.
Old 06-02-2015, 11:11 AM
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Good news Bad news.

Bad news first. Someone progressing to a Spitire from a trainer is likely to need the trash bag on the first flight. They tip stall in certain circumstances. Just like this one.