Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Basics on 4 Cycle Gas Engine

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Basics on 4 Cycle Gas Engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2018, 07:57 PM
jmartindale

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basics on 4 Cycle Gas Engine

I'm a rookie in this hobby. Ran an OS Max 46 on my trainer last year and thinking about moving to a 4 stroke gas motor for my next kit build. Where can I go for all the basics of a gas motor, i.e. size as compared to nitro size, difficulty in mounting, starting, adjusting for optimum running, everything? I know nothing and need to learn from the very basics all the way up. Where can I go for that information? Thank you.
Old 03-19-2018, 03:07 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi,
You can use the search function of this site to find a lot on the subject as it has been discussed many times over.

Here are some 4-stroke gas engines that describe what applications they are suited for.
https://www.horizonhobby.com/storefr.../saito-engines

For a 40 size trainer or Cub-style plane the Saito FG-11 would be an engine to consider:
https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...%3A-bz-saieg11

Following the break-in process is very important as well as using high quality oil and gas. The adjustments and maintenance will be similar to a 4-stroke glow engine which is a bit more involved than 2-stroke glow or gas.
Old 03-19-2018, 07:16 AM
wnewbury

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

4 stroke nitro and 4 stroke gasoline engines are two completely different things. You probably knew that already. One I like and the other not so much.
Old 03-19-2018, 07:52 AM
Propworn
My Feedback: (3)

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts